This slideshow requires JavaScript.


March 17th 2015

Fighter Profile
Name – Julie Kitchen
Nickname – The Queen Of Muay Thai
Weight – 59Kg – 67Kg (130 – 147 Pounds)
Record – 52 wins 9 losses
Team – Independent

 

Where are you from ?
I was born in Truro which in is Cornwall, England. I grew up in Penzance and had an amazing child hood.

When did you know you wanted to be a fighter?
I start thaiboxing after I had given birth to my beautiful twin daughters. I was looking to get rid of my baby fat, my husband at the time was teaching thaiboxing in the evening so it enabled me to see him and also burn some calories!
I went along to a show one of the junior fighters fought on and the atmosphere grabbed me and from that day forward I wanted to step through the ropes and experience it.

How long have you been training ?
I started just before my 23 birthday so 15 years!

What is your current record ?
61 fights, 9 losses, 52 wins.

What is your favorite strike ?
Throughout my career I have favoured different techniques. In my early years I enjoyed the boxing but realized it did not score enough in my sport, so I worked on kicks and the push kick (teep) soon became one of my trademarks. I enjoy the clinch and elbow range now as it changes the whole fight game plan when elbows are added.

Who is your biggest inspiration?
I am inspired by many people. Anyone in any walk of life who gives 110% to what they love. And it goes without saying my daughters.

What team do you train with ?
When I was competing I fought under mine and my husbands gym Touchgloves based in Cornwall, Nathan kitchen was my coach. I am currently independent and teach seminars across the world and teach individuals were necessary.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter is a way of life, it requires full dedication, if you cannot dedicate yourself it is not a career choice for yourself.
I started competing when my twin girls were aged 2, I still got up for my early morning run even after a disturbed night sleep, before starting my day job.

What weight do you fight at ?
My favourite weight was 63.5Kg but my range in the weight categories ranged from 59Kg to 67Kg, I found by moving weights it kept me busier as a female fighter.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I never ducked any opponents and would take fights late notice. I wanted to test myself and constantly improve, giving up is not in my nature, just to improve on my weak areas.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against?
I am retired now but I always wanted a match with Gina Carano unfortunately as I made my way up the ladder Gina made a break in Hollywood and it never happened.
If I had my time again I wish I trained in ground work as I would love to fight the best female fighter in the UFC Ronda Rousey.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Every fight has been tough, all fighters step through the ropes believing they can win and will work for it.I never took an 8 count during my career. Out of all the girls I fought Angie Parr hit me with the strongest shots I have taken, she has great hands.

What is your mindset going in to a fight?
I could never doubt I had not put the preparation in, so my only worry would be if I would perform on the night. It’s a long journey to prepare yourself to step in the ring and cutting corners will make yourself doubt your ability as you are warming up ready for battle. I have a very strong mind and I am lucky to be able to cut out negative thoughts, saying that I always suffered with nerves but I used them in a positive way.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career?
I am known as The Queen Of Muay Thai my nickname given to me by my fans. Not only because of my fights but my whole story behind the reason of starting and struggles on the way.
I love the fact I inspire all ages and both genders in the sport.

How would you describe your fighting style?
I would always try to fight smart, be one step in front of my opponent. When I started fighting I fought aggressively, as I became more experienced I made opening for myself and enjoyed working on faking a move so I could land a clean shot.

What drives or motivates you?
Myself, If you cannot motivate yourself how can you expect someone else to do it for you? Of course you find motivation on the way from people, footage, images and everyday life.

What is something people might not know about you?
I have always been open in interviews, I would think my fans know as much as they need to know about me.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter?
My day job before I turned to Muay Thai full-time was a wages clerk in my local hotel. I started worked at the The Queens Hotel when I was 16 first of all as a chamber maid, then added to my hours by waitressing and bar work. I was then asked to be a full time receptionist and once I had given birth to my daughters they offered me a part-time job in the office as wages clerk. Who knows if I would still be there?

I will never look back at my time spent as a fighter and regret anything. Muay Thai has made me the person I am today, I have loved every second of it, I have the scars from Elbows and memories from the sport which will stay with me for life.

One of my daughters Amber is junior World Champion and Allaya is European Champion. They are concentrating on their school exams at the moment but the fight world has not seen the end of Kitchen female fighters…. Watch this space.

I am now currently working with Enfusion

http://www.enfusion-tv.com/ http://www.enfusionlive.com

Teaching Seminars World Wide

Skype clinics offering my experienced advice on training and preparing for competition.

You can follow me at
http://www.juliekitchen.com

instagram juliekitchenuk1

