This slideshow requires JavaScript.

March 18th 2015

Fighter Profile
Name – Garrett Holeve
Nickname – G Money
Weight – 135 Pounds
Record – 1 win 0 losses
Team – Rock MMA

Where are you from ?
Cooper City , Fl. born and raised.

How long have you been training ?
5 years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
It started with my dad asking me and my brothers if we wanted to go try MMA. He dared us to go and train because he had boxed as a teen, I think he wanted a chance to beat us up lol. I was the only one who went with him.

When did you know you wanted to be a fighter ?
After I started to train in MMA for fitness and fun in 2010 a few months after I was training I Knew I wanted to compete in MMA.

What is your current record ?
1-0 amateur record.

Do you like to stand and strike or take your opponent down and try to submit them ?
I like to do both, I want to be a well round fighter. I enjoy stand up but I will do whatever my coaches think it will take to win the fight.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
Stephan Bonnar inspired me to take my MMA career more serious.

What team do you currently train with ?
Rock MMA.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
To prove to people I have courage and to test myself and conquer my fears. People try to put a label on me because of Down syndrome, being a fighter is the only label I accept.
What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at 135 pounds.

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division?
My desire to fight and how hard I’m willing to train.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I want to fight against any other fighter who is NOT an adaptive athlete.

Who has been your toughest fight to date?
My toughest fight is not any opponent, but to gain my record to have a sanctioned fight.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Focused just to beat the “crap” out of my opponent.

Who are you fighting next ?
A rematch against David Steffan.

What holes or weaknesses do you see in his game that you can exploit ?
David is very talented, but I’m more focused and determined than he is.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
For breaking down barriers that people put up to stop me and other adaptive athletes from fighting.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My friend Mike Johnson, who is a fighter and one of my coaches. He has always supported me and helped in my training.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Randy Couture.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I’m a disciplined fighter who follows my coaches instructions whether it’s to stand and bang or to use my ground game. I’m just determined to win!
What drives or motivates you ?
To prove to others that they shouldn’t discriminate against people just because they are different. I want to prove to society that labels don’t matter.

What is something people might not know about you ?
That I like to work with kids and train them.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I would work at a dog groomers.
What gets you hyped up for a fight ?
I like to listen to music mostly rap, I also like to watch the punisher movie.

do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
My anger because of how people used to treat me and because they doubt me.

http://www.garrettsfight.org

