This slideshow requires JavaScript.


April 13th 2015

Fighter Profile
Name – Marcus Davis
Nickname – The Irish Hand Grenade
Weight – 155 – 170 Pounds
Record – 26 wins 10 losses
Team – Team Irish MMA

 

Where are you from?
Born in Houlton Maine grew up in Bangor Maine.

When did you know you wanted to be a fighter ?
My mother said I was already talking about it as soon as I could speak. I was punching before I was walking.

How long have you been training ?
Started training in traditional martial arts in 1982

How did you get in to mma ?
I was training at the Choi Institute in Portland Maine and received an email asking me if I would be interested in competing in a Pancrase event. I tried it out and from there it just became my new passion.

What is your current record ?
Some sites have my record listed as 22-11 or 26-10. In MMA but I’ve glanced at them and they are missing fights I had that weren’t recorded. I think this is common for those who were active before 2005 before MMA really became regulated and tracked. With my Boxing, both AM and Pro, Kick Boxing, K1 and MMA I’ve had around 200 fights.

What is your favorite strike or submission?
I don’t really have a favorite strike but being a southpaw I’ve knocked people out with both my left cross and right hook but I also love the left kick to the liver. As far as submissions I love leg locks.

Who is your biggest inspiration?
It is obviously my wife and kids. Providing, protecting and leading them inspires me to try to do great things.

What team do you currently train with?
I’m retired but I have my own Team Irish MMA and I will always be part of Team Sityodtong and with Jorge Gurgel.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground?
When I was actively fighting I liked the stand up. Now that I’m retired I spend all my time grappling.

What does it mean to you to be a fighter?
Well real fighters fight just to be in the fight. Regardless of outcome. They obviously want to win but would fight regardless of what the outcome was. I didn’t start fighting because I wanted to be famous or rich. I fought because I had a desire to do so and if I didn’t do it as a sport I might have made some really bad choices later in life.

What weight do you fight at?
I fought at both 155 and 170.

what do you think separates you from other fighters
In your division?
Well its a different time. It was once the time of the BJJ guy. like the Gracies. Then the wrestlers dominated. Coleman, Kerr, Severn, Don Fry. The strikers came after.Wanderlei, CroCop, Chuck Liddell. Now I always refer to the time now as the time of the athlete. All your guys on top are just super athletic. They are doing a lot of the basics just faster and harder. They could be playing any sport they want but instead of a ball they picked up MMA gloves.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
It would have been in 2007. I would have liked to have fought Gomi at that time.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Chris Lytle is by far one of the toughest men in MMA and the toughest guy I fought.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I typically kept the thought that I was doing this for my family. Focused on them before the fight. Walking out to the cage I tended to just focus on the game plan and how well prepared I was and what I did in camp to get to this point.

Who are you fighting next?
I’ve been retired going on 2 years.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in their game?
I think that if I could go back I would spend allot more time wrestling.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career?
Just as a guy who let it all hang out in his fights and that my fights were the kind people wanted to see

Who has been most influential to you in your career?
I’ve had a lot of people who have influenced my career. If I was looking at my mentors I would say Master Seung O Choi, Joe Lake, Mark Dellagrotte and Jorge Gurgel.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport?
The fans. By tuning into TUF and starting to buy the pay per views they allowed the sport to grow to where it is today.

How would you describe your fighting style?
When I was actively fighting I would call my style a counter fighter. Now that I’m retired I study more body mechanics and apply that to technique. I thing old traditional technique can be improved though math.

What drives or motivates you?
Family.

What is something people might not know about you?
I’m a bit of a nerd. When I was younger I studied herpetology and was a huge Star Wars fan.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time?
I enjoy traveling. I love going to new places with my wife. If I was independently wealthy I would travel the world.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter?
I’m not sure. I don’t like to even think about it because it usually makes me think I’d be either dead or in jail.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle?
The competition its self was enough. I never needed any pre fight rituals or extra motivation to fight.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to?
Just to anyone who supported me during my career… Thank you all and God Bless.
“The Irish Hand Grenade”
Marcus Davis
President of Team Irish MMA Inc.
Treasurer of Team Irish PTC
President of 207 Athletes

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XCthJl-YW84

