This slideshow requires JavaScript.

April 29th 2015

Fighter Profile
Name – Summer Bronco
Nickname – The Soul Crusher
Record – 14 wins 1 loss
Team – East Side Muay Thai

Where are you from ?
I am from Virginia Beach, Virginia.

When did you know you wanted to be a fighter ?
I knew after I threw my first punch. I looked at my dad and smiled.

How long have you been training ?
I have been training since I was 5 (8 years now)

How did you get in to Muay Thai ?
My friend was doing karate but I wanted to try something a little more aggressive.

What is your current record ?
My record is currently 14 -1.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
I like throwing elbows. Putting my opponent in the corner and throwing elbows at their face.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
Well, Ronda of course. She is tough and strong and never gives up. She’s what I want to be, the Champion!

What team do you train with ?
I train at East Side Muay Thai.

What does it mean to you to be a fighter ?
It means I’m special. It takes a special person to put gloves on everyday and get in a ring and get punched in the face.

What weight do you fight at ?
I’m still growing so probably end up at 135lbs.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
My dedication and my diet. I train everyday and I eat clean all the time. I train and spar with grown women and I don’t back up from them either.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
PhetJee Jaa from Thailand. She’s the girl who fights boys and probably the best but I wanna fight her. I think I can hang with her.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Carina Tran It was a couple of years ago. She’s a great fighter from Sitan Gym.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I think about winning and everything I want to do in the fight. And to make my opponent wish they never stepped into the ring. Someone told me once that you can be anything you want to be in the ring. I try to be the “Soul Crusher” my nickname.

Who are you fighting next ?
I’m fighting on the USMF Junior Muay Thai Team representing Team USA at
the IFMA Youth World Championships

what holes or weaknesses do you look for in your opponents game ?
I like to look in their eyes when the referee brings us together. When she looks away from me I know she’s scared and I got her.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My Kru Jose Aguirre Fairtex.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Ronda Rousey.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Definitely offensive… I don’t back up. I’m in a fight so I fight all out! I come right at you and won’t let you breathe. If you’re not in top shape ill wear you down. I don’t like back and forth fighting. I train to punch and kick the whole fight.

What drives or motivates you ?
I want to be a UFC Champion someday. I think about that everyday.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I play the viola at school.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I probably would be playing basketball.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
Listening to music, I put on “Big Bad Wolf” by In this moment or something by White Zombie.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Connor Mcgregor (I’m Irish)

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
I like to play with my younger sisters and friends.

What advice can you give to other young female fighters ?
Well, if you’re not in my division, don’t ever let anyone tell you can’t fight because you’re a girl. If you are in my division I’m coming after you, I’m coming after all of you!

Where do you see women’s Muay Thai in the next 5-10 years ?
With me in it!

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I would like to thank my Kru Jose Aguirre, my parents and my teammates.

 

Click the link below and go check out summers fan page and hit the like button to stay up to date with all the latest from The Soul Crusher
https://m.facebook.com/SummerBronco

Help support summers dream of fighting in Thailand by clicking the link below and making a donation to her gofundme
https://www.gofundme.com/2bufp7s8

