shonie2

May 2nd 2015

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Shonie Carter
Nickname – Mr.International
Weight – 185 pounds
Record – 51 wins 31 losses 7 draws

 

Where are you from ?
I am from Maywood, IL but currently live in Chicago.

How long have you been training ?
I have been training for 29 years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I became involved over a bet in college while attending Carson-Newman college.

What was the defining moment when you knew you wanted to be a fighter ?
I never really knew that I was going to be fighter.

What is your current record ?
I am not really sure what my record is.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
My favorite strike is the lead leg side kick and my favorite submission is the side control bent arm bar.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration was my grandfather Joe Carter & Muhammad Ali.

What team do you train with ?
I am a well received Chicagoland MMA gypsy.

shonie3

When you stepped in the cage did you prefer to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I don’t really care where the fight goes.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
I am a martial artist that competes not a fighter.

What weight do you fight at ?
I compete now at 185lbs.

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
What largely separates me from other fighters is that I draw, teach, act, dress the part, talk the talk and walk the walk!

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
If I had a dream fight it would be Goliath(Biblical), and Kazushi Sakuraba.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
My toughest fight is everyday life.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
My mindset is accomplishing the mission that is set forth by others that couldn’t do it, but damn I am getting too old for this.

Who are you fighting next ?
I am fighting tomorrow, afternoon, evening and the night.

shonie4

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered at the end of my career as a martial artist who trained hard, competed hard and had fun seeing the world, winning city, state, regional, national & world titles and entertaining you all while doing it.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
I think the most influential person in MMA is……

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
The biggest impact on MMA is the TV, the fans & Mr. Dana White.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
My fighting style is Judo, Japanese Jiu-Jitsu, Greco-Roman wrestling, Kickboxing, & Shidokan karate.

What drives or motivates you ?
My children motivate me, my bills as well, LOL!

What is something people might not know about you ?
People don’t know that I paint pictures, Wrote a book just looking for a publisher/editor, was a Sunday school teacher, I dance Salsa very well if I must brag on myself, teach traditional martial arts, I do seminars, speaking engagements, anti bully campaigns at elementry schools and high schools.

When you’re not training what do you like to do in your free time ?
well when I am not training I am playing bejeweled and Mafia wars on Facebook! LOL!

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
If I wasn’t a fighter I would be an art curator or a Librarian or still in the U.S. Marines.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I don’t get hyped up before a fight.

Who is your favorite fighter of all time ?
My favorite fighters are the women fighters in grappling and MMA, not just the high level organizations.

shonie5

