This slideshow requires JavaScript.

May 19th 2015

Fighter Profile
Name – Megan Anderson
Weight – 145 pounds
Record – 4 wins 1 loss
Team – Empire Mixed Martial Arts

Where are you from ?
I’m from the Gold Coast, Australia.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been training for 2 years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I originally wanted to do boxing instead of mixed martial arts. I used to go to fight nights with a friend and I went and picked up tickets for an MMA fight night for a local promotion who persuaded me to come in for a trial. After the first session, I fell in love with the sport.

When did you know you wanted to be a fighter ?
I always knew that if I was to train a combat sport such as mixed martial arts that I’d want to eventually compete. I’m very competitive with myself and thrive off competition and a challenge.

What is your current record ?
My current record is 4-1.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
I don’t really have a favourite strike or submission. I go in their to fight and each hit i’m aiming to knock my opponent out!

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
I don’t have one particular person that is my biggest inspiration. I take inspiration from a lot of different people from training partners, to coaches, to friends and family. Each person is unique and inspire me to become a better person each day.

What team do you currently train with ?
My main MMA coach is Ricky Budgen from Empire Mixed Martial Arts and I also go down and train with coach Vincent Perry from Potential Unlimited Mixed Martial Arts a few times a week. I also have two striking coaches; my boxing coach is Chris Carden (Matrix Boxing Gym) and my Muay Thai coach is Richard Walsh (Urban Fight Gym). I also have a strength and condition coach Colin Atkinson training out of Snap Fitness Parkwood.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I like to stand and fight! But I’m also fine if it goes to the ground.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
To me, a fighter should a complete athlete. They’re constantly challenging themselves to improve their game in all aspects, trying to master each field. They need to be fit and they need to look the part. Above all else I believe that a fighter should be a good role model to not only young children and adults, but to the people around them as well. They need to set the standard and be someone worthy to look up to.

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight in the Featherweight division which is 145lbs.

What do you think separates you from other fighters in your division ?
I believe my height, my reach and my aggressive but calculated fighting style is what separates me from other fighters in my division. I fight with bad intentions and I always looking to finish the fight however I can.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I don’t have a dream fight. I want to be the Champ so I’m going to have to fight whoever I need to make that happen. Cyborg is the top of the Featherweights at the moment so i’m going to work my way up to that fight.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
My first fight has been my toughest fight I believe. My last fight was a rematch with the opponent I fought in my first fight so I was expecting it to be a very tough fight; however, I finished it in 92 seconds!

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I’m always very focused going into a fight. I know what I need to do to and I go out and do it. I look at it like a job and I need to get into that cage and get the job done.

Who are you fighting next ?
I am fighting a local Australian fighter called Helen Malone.

What holes or weaknesses do you see in her game ?
I see weaknesses in every part of her game. I’ve got better striking, better wrestling, better ground game than her. I don’t see any way in this fight that she could possibly beat me.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered as one of the best female fighters of my time.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Not one single person has been influential to me in my career. A lot of people have helped me get to this point and I cannot thank each and every one of them enough for guiding me and helping me grow as a fighter.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
I’m not too sure. There are a lot of fighters who have had a big impact on the sport to help it grow and move in a possible direction. For women’s mma, Ronda Rousey is clearly the front-runner in the sport and will have the biggest impact on the sport for a very long time.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I would say my fighting style is very aggressive yet technical.

What drives or motivates you ?
What drives me is the challenge to constantly be learning and growing as a martial artist and to constantly evolve and push myself to be the best.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I used to be in the Australian Defence Force.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I have no idea! I probably would just be working full-time in a job I didn’t like.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I don’t have any pre fight rituals. I like to stay calm and joke around out back, maybe listen to a little music. I don’t really have anything that hypes me up for a fight, I already know what I need to do and it’s just a matter of getting out there and doing the job.

Who is your favourite fighter of all time ?
I don’t have one particular fighter that is a favourite, I have a few that I am a big fan of and admire both their skill, personality and athleticism. These are: Conor McGregor, Luke Rockhold, Ronda Rousey and Joe Schilling.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
As training takes up a big part of my week, I like to catch up with friends in my spare time. I like to just relax and unwind by going to the movies or going to a nice place to eat.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Just find a good gym that’s supportive, train hard and don’t give up. It’s not always going to be easy and people are going to test you both physically and mentally, but those challenges are what is going to make you a stronger fighter in the end.

Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
Women’s MMA is only very young and it’s going to explode in the next 5-10 years and will rival the popularity of its male counterpart.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Yes. I’d like to thank all my coaches, Ricky Budgen, Chris Carden, Richard Walsh and Vincent Perry for taking the time to invest in me and my goals.My management team, Posterboy Fighters as well as my strength and condition coach, Colin Atkinson and my Sports Psychologist Mark Edmondson a huge thanks goes to you guys. A massive thak you to my amazing sponsors Protein http://powder.com.au/”>Powder.com.au, Linebreak Compression Sports Wear, Raven Fight Wear, Magic Hands Leeza Roberts, and Reaqua. All my training partners I can’t thank you for pushing and challenging me on a daily basis and helping me to grow and become a better martial artist. Last but not least a huge thank you goes to my parents for supporting me and enabling me to live my dream. Without their help I wouldn’t be where I am today without them.

 

To stay up to date with Megan click the link below and go hit the like button on her fan page for all the latest news

https://www.facebook.com/meganandersonmma/

