This slideshow requires JavaScript.

June 24th 2015

Fighter Profile
Name – Laken Jowers
Nickname – Tiny Titan
Weight – 105 -115 Pounds
Record – 2 wins 2 losses
Team – Combat Athletics

Where are you from?
Davie County, NC.

How long have you been training?
I have only been training MMA for about 2 Years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
Growing up I played all the “girl” sports softball, basketball and soccer. Around grade 7 I settled on just one sport basketball but when I got to high school they fired the basketball coach and I told my dad I was not going to try out for the team! He said “Well you are going to do something” meaning I was still going to be active in some kind of sport. I told him I wanted to give wrestling a try…So we went to the high school wrestling coach and talked to him so we could get a “gauge” on how the coach felt about a girl being on the guys wrestling team. The coach said he had girls on the team before and that he had no problem with me being on the team as long as I worked hard and knew he was going to treat me like one of the guys.
My dad has been a fan of MMA since before I was born and I have always watched the fights with him and I started thinking about wanting to train to fight after my wrestling was over.

When did you know you wanted to be a fighter ?
Sophomore year of High School. I wrestled all four years of High School and a year in college at the University of the Cumberlands in KY.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
My dad raised me from the time I was 6 months old and he has always supported me in anything I have decided to do and my decision to enter MMA was no different…He has always be my biggest supporter.

What is your current record ?
2-2…I won my amateur debut by first round TKO due to strikes and I lost my 2nd fight via armbar in the first round my third fight i lost by submission and i won my fourth fight by split decision.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
I don’t really have a “favorite” yet. I am still learning and trying to figure out what my “go to” move will be lol.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My dad.

What team do you train with ?
Combat Athletics in Mocksville, NC.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
It just depends on what type of fighter I am in the cage against.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
That’s a hard one for me to answer….So far I don’t think of myself as a fighter, I am just beginning in this great sport.

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at 115 but I can also fight at 105 as well.

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
Not just me, but I think there is a group of 18-20 something year old female fighters that will be making waves in the near future so I guess our youth is what separates us.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
A clone of myself because I think that would be a pretty even match.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
My 2nd fight at Fight Lab for sure! It is a pretty big regional show and even though it was my 2nd fight I was a wreck mentally! We knew going into the fight that Hailey Davis was legit and I got caught with a very clean shot that rocked me and she pounced on me and I was not able to recover and lost via arm bar. I was a little relived after a couple of days that I no longer had to worry about keeping my 0 intact…But I made it out of the fight without getting injured and I was back in the gym two days after the fight.

Who are you fighting next what holes or weaknesses do you see in their game?
I am fighting Marisa Messer-Belenchia next.

What holes or weaknesses do you see in her game that you can exploit ?
I have been focusing on my training and coming up with a game plan with my coach and everyone will see what that game plan is on fight night.

What promotion are you fighting ?
I am fighting for Premier FC.

for Date and time of your next fight ?
July 30th is the date for my next fight.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered for being a good mixed martial artist and maybe picking up a few championship belts along the way!

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My coach, Josh Stanley.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Dana White.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I am still developing my style.

What drives or motivates you?
People that say I can’t or should not be in the cage unless it is as a ring girl!

What is something people might not know about you ?
That I am smarter than I look lol.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I would still be in college and hating it.

What gets you hyped up for a fight?
I get hyped just seeing the cage.

Do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle?
No, my coach told me that is the worst thing people can do because it is just un-needed pressure of something that could go wrong.

Who is your favourite fighter?
My favorite female fighters are Thug Rose, 12 gauge and Cup Cake on the men’s side any of Team Alpha Male, Chris Weidman and my teammate and friend Shelton Sales it won’t be long and people are going to know his name!

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
I am fortunate to be able to train full-time thanks to my dad and my coach.. I train 6-7 days a week so I just like to relax and take it easy when I am not at the gym.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far?
Winning my debut.

What advice can you give to young female fighters?
If you think you want to train MMA find a legit gym and start training! Don’t be the 32 year old woman who looks back and feel sorry for yourself because you didn’t give it your all from the beginning.

Where do you see women’s mma in the next 5-10 years ?
I think it will continue to grow and like I said earlier there is going to be some great ladies making their way to the pro ranks in the next couple of years.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
Still fighting and helping build the sport.

What are your goals within the sport ?
The main thing is to be able to say I took my chance when it presented itself…This is the time for women’s MMA! Even though there have been women’s fights for years this generation is the one that will make our mark on the sport! We are like the Z-Boys were to skateboarders.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
My dad, My coach Josh Stanley and all of my teammates and training partners and a shout out to the world of women’s MMA!! Here we come!

To keep up to date with all the latest news from The Tiny Titan click the link below and go hit the like button on her fan page
https://www.facebook.com/TinyTitanJowers/

