This slideshow requires JavaScript.

July 13th 2015

Fighter Profile
Name – Irshaad Sayed
Nickname – White Tiger
Weight – 135 Pounds
Record – 10 wins 2 losses
Team – Evolve MMA

Where are you from ?
I’m originally from Cape Town, South Africa.

When did you know you wanted to be a fighter ?
I started training kickboxing when I was a teenager. Once I started watching K-1 max with Buakow and Masato I knew I wanted to be a professional.

How long have you been training ?
I have Been doing various martial arts for about 12 years now.

How did you get in to MMA ?
My friend Vusi Colossa and I were invited to fight MMA at an event in Macau. At the time we were both fighting Muay Thai but accepted the fight “just to give it a try”

What is your current record ?
Current mma record is 10-2.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
Definitely a counter left hook.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My family inspires me.

What team do you train with ?
I’m currently based in Singapore and train with the world-class team at Evolve MMA.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I’m comfortable wherever the fight takes place, however I will always feel more at home on my feet.

What does it mean to you to be a fighter ?
It’s an amazing experience, I get to do something I enjoy each day.

What weight do you fight at ?
Currently I’m at Bantamweight.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
My team in Singapore, my focus and my detailed and scientific approach to training.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
MMA fight vs Mayweather.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Jumabieke Texuren.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I try to stay calm until I enter the cage.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I don’t want to be remembered as a fighter, I’d like to be remembered for the good things I’ve done as a human being.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Quinton Arendse and Vusi Colossa.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Technical aggression.

What drives or motivates you ?
To be the best athlete I can be, to keep doing something I love everyday.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I’m extremely OCD, I like colour coding items and arranging things neatly.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
I like hiking, mountain biking, basically outdoor activities.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Fireman, police officer, something exciting. Certainly wouldn’t be in an office

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
Actually I don’t get too hyped up in the change rooms, I try to warm up but stay relaxed.

Where do you see the sport of mma in 5-10 years ?
I see mma as a main stream sport around the world, possibly being taught at school level.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
My biggest accomplishment is being a professional athlete. I’m blessed to call this my job.

Who is your favorite fighter of all time ?
Muhammad Ali.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I would like to thank my family and friends for all their support. My team at Evolve in Singapore, my training partners at PFA in Cape Town and all my sponsors. Grips Africa, mma-shop.co.za, GNC supplements, Polar Ice Cream and SimSport.

