This slideshow requires JavaScript.

July 19th 2015

Fighter Profile
Name – Keith Richardson
Nickname – RockStar
Weight – 135 pounds
Record – 14 wins 6 losses
Team – Modern Warrior MMA

Where are you from?
Originally Long Island, NY but I moved down south in High School. I’m about 50/50 northern and southern.

How long have you been training ?
I have been training MMA for about 9 years

When did you know you wanted to be a fighter ?
I was actually a fan of the original UFC’s back in the day and had a wrestling background. I remember watching TUF 1 while I was in the Marine Corps and thinking that I was going to do that when I got out.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I really got into it to help me deal with my PTSD issues. It became my therapy.

Tell us about your nickname how did you get it ?
I got the nick name the Rockstar from my old buddy Todd after my first Ammy fight when I signed a set of boobs.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of mma ?
Most of them were very supportive. My Momma thinks I should do something better with my face then take punches in it.

What was the defining moment when you knew you wanted to be a fighter ?
When I started to realize I am pretty good at it.

What is your current record ?
14-6 Pro 4-0 Ammy.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
I’d usually go with the one that ends the fight. I am not a big fan of going the distance. I don’t get paid by the hour.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
All of my Marine brothers that didn’t make it home. I try to make them proud and I feel the need to do something special with my life. I won’t let their sacrifice be in vain.

What team do you train with ?
Modern Warrior MMA and I do part of my training camps with Team Alpha Male.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
You have to take each fight differently and I feel I am well-rounded enough to handle myself anywhere the fight goes.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
It means I am part of the purest sport around.

What weight do you fight at ?
I just recently made the move to bantamweight.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
Because of my background and the fact I have seen real war I can’t be shaken mentally.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Conor McGregor/ Hitler I could go either way on that one.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Charles Rosa was a hard one specially because I was winning and then the fight got stopped too early but I might have to say Rodrigo Lima. It was a 3 round war and I managed to pull out the submission on an ATT black belt.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Press hard for the finish.

Who are you fighting next and what holes or weaknesses do you see in their game ?
Frank Caraballo. I think I will be more well-rounded and calm in the cage.

What promotion are you fighting for Date and time of your next fight ?
RFA in Ohio on August 22nd.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
Someone who always put on a great performance and left it all in the cage.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Probably my finish over Lima.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Probably Pat Sweet, he has always been part of my MMA career.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Dana White has certainly been the center of bringing MMA into the main stream.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
True war fighter.

What drives or motivates you ?
Honoring my fallen brothers.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I was pretty sure I wasn’t going to live past 23.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
I am really into music, movies, and craft beer (when my strict diet allows it).

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Stripping maybe, its kind of a frightening thought for me. I have no idea.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I don’t really need anything to get me hyped, I am about to step into a cage with another man to fight until one of use can no longer fight.

Where do you see the sport of mma in 5-10 years ?
I see the sports growth continuing and moving in the direction toward more legitimacy and main stream acceptability like the NFL or NHL.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
I really love working with all the talented dudes over at Alpha Male. They are just a great group of guys.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to?
My Modern Warrior family, 007 Bail Bonds, Fire House Vapors, Pai. CPA, Big Wayne’s Gym, Diamond Thieves Tattoo, Performance Staffing, TNT Profit, Richardson Animal Rescue, and just all the people who have supported me on this journey

