September 7th 2015

Fighter Profile
Name – Roya Darvishian
Nickname – The Destroya
Weight – 105-115 pounds
Record – MMA 9 wins 5 losses boxing 3 wins 0 losses Muay Thai 2 wins 2 losses
Team – Team Lloyd Irvin
Where are you from ?
I live in Maryland about 5 minutes from DC.

How long have you been training ?
I have been training now for 5 years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I was always getting into fights so I turned my aggression into something positive.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
Everyone calls me Roya the Destroya.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
After I lost my first fight I knew I had to do more and that I wanted this life.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
My mom was not very supportive but she comes with me now to almost all of my fights and competitions.

What is your current record ?
My current record for
MMA is 9-5
Boxing 3-0
Muay Thai 2-2

roya9

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
I would have to say my favorite punch is a straight right hand after setting it up and my favorite submission is a kimura or an arm bar.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration right now are animals. I want to open a farm sanctuary to farmed animals as well as dogs.

What team do you train with ?
I train with Team Lloyd Irvin.

do you like to stand and bang with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I like to box but in MMA I like to take it to the ground because most judges don’t know how to score boxing so it’s just easier to submit.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter means everything to me. It’s everything I know.

What weight do you fight at ?
I have been fighting at 115 my whole Ammy career but I am a 105er and have a fight set at that weight in December.

What separates you from other fighters in your division ?
What separates me is wanting to experience as much as I can as an amateur fighter. Doing more than just MMA.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
My dream fight will be going against whoever will be holding that 105lb title in the UFC

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
My toughest fight to date I would have to say Jen Lopez. We fought twice and went 1-1

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Go to win.

roya3

Who are you fighting next ?
My next fight is November 21st against Gillian Robertson.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in her game that you can exploit ?
I’m not sure I haven’t watched any footage on her I just train what my coaches put me through.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
This will be for sprawl and brawl in Richmond Va.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered for my boxing and grappling.

roya4

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
I would have to say my boyfriend Marcus if it wasn’t for him I wouldn’t be where I am today.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Right now for women it is definitely Ronda Rousey.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Well rounded fighter.
What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
My motivation to win and my motivation to help animals.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I am Vegan which actually people do know about me haha.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I would definitely be traveling the world doing journalism.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I always throw down with my boy friend before a fight.

What is your favourite fight quote or Motto ?
Let’s go.

Who is your favourite fighter ?
I have a lot of favorite fighters from all different sports of the game.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
I like to hang with my dogs haha.

roya12

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Winning my Ammy titles and recently winning the ibjjf pan ams.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
Finding fights esp at 105.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
To never give up and see your future and to follow it.

Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
I see it just as popular as the men in MMA.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
I see myself with the 105lb UFC title.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I want to thank my team, team Lloyd Irving, my boxing coach Hershel, and my wrestling family at Blue claw.

