This slideshow requires JavaScript.

September 29th 2015

Fighter Profile
Name – Valentina Shevchenko
Nickname – The Bullet
Weight – 60 kg (135 Pounds)
Muay Thai Record – 56 wins 1 loss
MMA Record 11 wins 1 loss
Team – Tiger Muay Thai

Valentina Shevchenko is a 16 time world champion in Muay Thai, Kickboxing, K-1 and MMA.
In 2008 Valentina Shevchenko became the owner of the Best female-fighter of the world cup founded by the International federation of amateur Muay Thai IFMA.                  Valentina has had 53 professional fights and Trains under the direction of her master Pavel Fedotov (“Skif Muay Thai Gym”).
As a whole Valentina has about 500 amateur and professional fights in all different kinds of combats arts.

Where are you from ?
I was born in the USSR, but now I am living and fighting in Peru.

How long have you been training ?
All my life.
I started when I was only 5 years old. Martial Arts is a family tradition. My mother is a third Dan black belt in Taekwondo she currently teaches Muay Thai, and is the president of Federation of Thai Boxing (Muay Thai) in Kyrgyzstan. My elder sister Antonina and I have followed her as an example. My sister Antonina is a 3 times World IFMA Muay Thai Champion and has two other World Kickboxing Titles. My coach Pavel Fedotov kept challenging me to compete in Taekwondo and other Martial Art’s Tournaments which led to a natural transition to Muay Thai and other martial arts.

How did you get in to mma ?
I have been training mixed martial arts (MMA) since the beginning, and it was totally natural because my transition was not to MMA, but eventually was a more concentrated focus on Muay Thai. I started competing in MMA professionally 11 years ago.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
My ring name is The Bullet.
I got it from my coach Pavel Fedotov, with whom I have trained with for 22 years. I don’t remember the special day for it, but I fell like I was born with this name Pavel knows me, and my every movement, and I think he gave me it because of my speed
The trainer always gives names by pseudonyms to the pupils because he can see lines of it in their character and style of conducting fight.
There is also superstition that if you give the fighter a good name with it always there will be good luck
if not it is necessary to change the ring name urgently.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
My destiny was to become a fighter.
that was already decided by my mom, when I still was not born
And I am so happy and thankful to her about this!

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
My family and my friends support me in every step of my life.

What is your current record In Muay Thai and Kickboxing ?
56-1 in Muay Thai
in MMA 11-1

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
The spinning back kick.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My favorite fighter Benny “The Jet” Urquidez.

What team do you currently train with ?
I am fighting out of Tiger Muay Thai, and after the World Muay Thai Championship in Bangkok, I will be training here in Thailand.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
All depends on the opponent, and in where I can dominate her more effective. But any way my coach Pavel Fedotov prepares me in all aspects, to be ready for any kind of situation.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
It’s all for me , martial arts forming me like a person. All my life it’s martial arts.

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at 60 kilo and also at 135 lbs

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
For me every fight, and every opponent its unique.
For every one my coach prepares me with my best conditions.
The spirit is the first thing that helps to win fights. For me the spirit is not only some minutes in the ring,it’s much more. Its how you prepare for the fights, how you train, what you eat , what you think, what and how you speak… The Victory overworked not in the several minutes which have been conducted in a ring, it is the sum of many things. The one who was more sincere in the trainings and in there desire to win also will win.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
To give all my best, and fight like its my last time.

Who are you fighting next ?
Right now I am waiting for confirmation about some future fights.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
I am fighting for Legacy promotion.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
When a person id still in action they don’t think about this kind of thing.
I just want to be very sincere in all that I do.
For me martial arts is my philosophy, my passion, Martial Arts is my life.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
For sure its my coach Pavel Fedotov, and my sister Antonina.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Universal.

What drives or motivates you ?
my Love for the Martial Arts

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I don’t want to think about this !!! I am a fighter 100 %!!!

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I think every fighter has one.
But its only mine, that’s why it gives me luck. I can tell you about it only when I finish my fighting career.

your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the ring or cage ?
When I am in the that moment i have no space to think, its time to work

Who is your favourite fighter ?
Benny “The Jet” Urquidez

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
I am a dancer I have danced since childhood
I believe dancing helps me stay womanly while being engaged in combat sports! A woman must simultaneously show strength of mind, skill,and show grace and the beauty inherent to her gender.
Women are different from men physically so we must utilize our high level of technique, flexibility, and speed and not try to be like men. The woman should remain a woman. Dancing is a remarkable way to help keep the softness, the elegance, and sensuality of a woman. Therefore I like to dance.
As for my other hobbies I love to practice shooting. In Peru my sister and I always compete in shooting tournament of the IPSC , IDPA and Tri Gun. When I am not training in martial arts, I am training for shooting competition.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Always go ahead!
Sometimes its very difficult , but The way is made by walking.

Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
Every year women’s MMA becomes stronger and stronger, and I am very happy that every day more and more girls are coming to the gyms to train.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
My speciality is a film director. I finished the University of Arts.

Can you tell us a little about your sister Antonina ?
Antonia always was and remains till now an example to me
When I started to train, I always tried to resemble her in techniques, character, will power and spirit.

You have some very unique tattoos what do they represent ?
I have some. The first, on my shoulder, I had done in 2006 after the World championship of Muay Thai in Thailand (it was the 4th World championship in which I took part) On it the emblem of Federation of Thai boxing of the Kirghiz Republic and the same time emblem of the club of my trainer Pavel Fedotov with whom I have trained all my life since childhood and for whom I am obliged by all achievements which I have. By the way, this emblem my talisman, on it 2 snow leopards executed in style of the Kirgyz national pattern, and in the middle a fist, in style in-jan are represented. Also now this emblem is a symbol of our academy “Las Amazonas” in Iquitos, Peru, and “SKIF MUAYTHAI GYM” in Lima. More recently after the World championship 2009 (IFMA, Thailand) has made to itself a tattoo in the form of a Thai deity of Hanuman, the patron of all Thai boxers.

How do you prepare for a fight ?
The combat outcome, certainly depends on the preparation of the person. From ability to correctly build fight tactics, in time to find acceptances which will be effective in relation to the given opponent. No contender can be underestimated, because a fight is fight, and it is necessary to be very attentive to prevent different accidents.

Can you tell us about the titles you have won and what being a world champion means to you ?
The rank of world champion imposes heavy responsibility. When you enter a ring, you cannot fight boring, because the public waits for something more. It is necessary to be able to act and show beautifully high techniques. The rank of the world champion imposes responsibility to train and improve more and be better than others.

What is your take on femininity in combat sports ?
To be womanly, being engaged in such sports, not only is it possible but also it is necessary. In general I am against any roughness in the woman. The woman always should remain the woman where she neither was and or was engaged. And that is the different between male sport and female sport the ability of the woman simultaneously with strength of mind and high techniques to show grace and the beauty inherent in herself . By the way, dance is the remarkable method, helping to keep softness, elegance and sensuality. Therefore I like to dance, and I have danced since my childhood. I Especially like national dances. I like to dance Caucasian Lezginka under which music always I enter the ring to.
I also like the “Russian gipsy dance”.

You recently graduated from the university of arts with a major in film directing can you tell is about that ?
I have graduated from the institute of arts as a  film director. When I finish my sports career
I will shoot films about martial arts. For me art is on the same level as martial art
Greeks said “told Art in life first of all, and life is most to greatest of arts”. So I try to live that because I find it very interesting, being trained and learning many new things.

Can you tell is what Thai boxing means to you ?
For me it’s not only sports
Muay Thai is my life.
Some people think that Muay Thai is dangerous to your health, but that is not so. If competently trained nothing terrible will happen

What are your plans for the future ?
I will continue to fight as long as its possible, because I love it, and it is pleasant to me.
Muay Thai always will be with me.

