frankie3

December 3rd 2015

Fighter Profile
Name – Frankie Passos
Nickname – Meninao
Team – Daniel Gracie Nothborough Academy

 
Where are you from ?
Originally from Santa Catarina Brazil, but l live in Marlborough Ma.

How long have you been training ?
For about 13 years.

How did you get in to Brazilian Jiu Jitsu ?
I was kind of a troubled kid, fighting, hanging out with the wrong kids. So starting Jiu Jitsu was a way to stay out of trouble.

Tell us about your nickname how did you get it ?
Well, my nickname is “Meninao” which means big kid. I always like to make jokes and have fun with my teammates. My good friend Ze com Fome gave me this nickname.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a Jiu Jitsu competitor ?
It was since I was a white belt, my professor Romulo Reis told me that l should compete in a local tournament in my home town to test myself so l did. It’s all about having fun and seeing where l am.

What is your favorite submission ?
I love lapels choke.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration is my professor Juliano “Banana” Coutinho, every time there is a tournament and l asked him should l compete he always says “mete as cara” which means go for it man. Also my father who passed away from cancer this year, he fought cancer pretty much my whole life for 23 years So he showed me what being a fighter really means.

frankie1

What team do you train with ?
We call it a Family, l am a Juliano “Banana”sCoutinho student, we are Daniel Gracie Team.

What is your favorite aspect of Jiu Jitsu ?
I like play bottom so I like to pull guard lol.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
It Means not quitting, we don’t have time for that, life is too short.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I would really like to compete against myself not because l am the best but, just to get a feel for what my game really is.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
I competed against Rafael Carneiro once and he got me in a footlock in like 10 seconds lol.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Have fun.

When are you fighting next ?
Probably at Boston open in April.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want my students to say “that old man is still rolling with everyone”.

frankie4

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
The day l fought at Tap Cancer Out and l tapped my opponents in all three of my fights.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My teammates and students.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
I would said Carlos Gracie (for he created Jiu Jitsu), Royce Gracie (for showing the world what jiu jitsu really was and Ryan Gracie (for being able to combine jiu jitsu with striking in a very aggressive way).

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I like to keep cool under pressure, and always look for submissions. If l wanted to score points l would play basketball.

What drives or motivates you ?
My family is my main motivation.

What is something people might not know about you ?
Good question, but l believe that like any other Brazilian we are not fake and if l don’t like you then you will know right away.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time?
I like to spend time with my wife my kids, and my friends.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a teacher and a fighter ?
Man l don’t even know, that’s all l do haha.

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight do you have any rituals that get you ready to step on the mats ?
Before my competition l like to get a hair cut and clean my car, always did that since i was 16 years old in Brazil

What is going through your head as you step on the mats and get ready to compete ?
Have fun, that is the main reason why l compete.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
I would say Ricardo “Buchecha” Almeida and Andre Galvao.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Yeah for sure, thank you to my beautiful wife for always supporting me on any decision l make.
Also shout out to my teammates, students and professors. With professor Juliano Banana and Daniel Gracie l would never be where l am today. Thank you guys… OSS

 
You can follow Frankie and all get all the latest news from Daniel Gracie Academy Of Northborough by clicking the link below and checking them out on Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/DGAofNORTHBOROUGH/

frankie2

