brittany-d8

December 26th 2015

 

Fighter profile
Name – Britney Dolheguy
From – Gold Coast Queensland
Weight – 112 pound
Record – 8 wins 2 loses
Team – Urban Fight Gym

 

Where are you from ?
Gold Coast, Queensland.

How long have you been training ?
two and a half years.

How did you get in to Muay Thai ?
My parents got me into Muay Thai for fitness and self-defense.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
After moving from Adelaide, I had been training with Richie for a while and was loving training. I decided to watch a night of fighter class and they were sparring. I absolutely loved it so I gave it a try to decided to give the Mta Nationals a go. Even though I lost I enjoyed it so I decided I wanted to be a fighter.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of Muay Thai?
Yes they’ve always been very supportive, at first they were nervous but they’ve always been there. After all they were the ones that got me into the sport.

What is your current record ?
10 fights, 8 wins, 2 loss, 2 KO.

What is your favorite strike ?
My favorite would be the knees in the clinch I love it. Also my jab, but I love everything!

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
I have a few for different reasons such as, Caley Reece, John Wayne Parr and Nathan Corbett.

What gym do you train with ?
I started training at Red star in Adelaide with Simon. I currently train out of Urban Fight Gym, under Richard Walsh.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
Muay Thai is my world. Everything revolves around it, from my social life, to my home life and my diet. Fighting means so much to me as it’s such a big part of my life.

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight from 48-51 Kg (112 pounds).

What do you think separates you from other fighters in your division ?
Dedication and determination. I try to train the hardest I can everyday and I have the determination to do that. I also try to make my technique as best as I can.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
I believe my toughest fight would be against Taleah Delfs as she was a bit heavier and I felt a lot of her punches and kicks.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
My mindset going into a fight is positive. I go in thinking about how hard I’ve trained and that I can win if I try hard enough.

Who are you fighting next ?
Not sure yet.

Date and time of your next fight ?
Maybe February, I also have the IFMA World Games In Sweden, in May 2016.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered for hopefully making the sport grow, and being an inspiring athlete to others.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Richard Walsh, my trainer has definitely been the most influential to me in my career.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
John Wayne Parr.
How would you describe your fighting style ?
I am a technical fighter. I like to make things count and be aggressive at the same time.

What drives or motivates you to step in the ring and compete ?
My determination to win motivates me. But also the determination to win belts and be the best I can be.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Before Muay Thai I was doing Athletics and lots of training. I loved hurdles so if I wasn’t doing Muay Thai I would still be doing Athletics.
What gets you mentally prepared for a fight do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the ring ?
I listen to music sometimes, preferably Eminem. Otherwise I like to relax myself and focus on what I have to do.

brittany-d6

Your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the ring ?
I want to win, I’ve trained hard and I’m well prepared. I tell myself I can do this and try to relax.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
I actually like the way Sarah Rankin fights in Muay Thai. But also Rhonda Rousey as she has the determination to train hard and win, I love the way she thinks and speaks her mind.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
I like to ride my bike along the beach, swim and chill out.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Winning the Mta Junior Nationals 48-51 championship.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in combat sports ?
Earning recognition. I believe before Rhonda Rousey come along, women barely got recognition in MMA.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
To be the best you have to fight the best so train hard, listen and respect yourself and others.

Where do you see women’s Muay Thai in the next 5-10 years ?
It’s growing so more young people will enter the sport and make it more competitive.

What are your goals within the sport ?
My goal is to be the best I can be and become the World Champion in Muay Thai.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I would like to thank my amazing trainer, Richie. But also Simon and Pik. My parents also need to be thanked as they have been there from the very start supporting me and forking out the money. And lastly to my sponsors, Ross from SuperKote, Nick from Snap Fitness, Snap Fitness Miami & Palm Beach, Mark from Pickfords chiropractic centre and Glenn from Lion Heart Mongkons.

brittany-d7

