This slideshow requires JavaScript.

January 12th 2016

Fighter profile
Name – David Cummings
Nickname – Thunder
Record – 179 wins 54 loses 3 draws
Team – Thunder Muay Thai and MMA

Where are you from ?
I was born in Colorado Springs Colorado and raised in Oklahoma.

How long have you been training ?
I had my first Karate class in February 1972 and my first boxing match in November 1972.
Started wrestling in 1973 at the age of 5
.
How did you get in to Muay Thai ?
my dad started me at a very young age training in Martial arts, he was a marine.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to be a fighter ?
Growing up at the beginning of full Contact Karate with guys like Tommy Williams and Bill Wallace I knew I wanted to be a champion.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
My nickname Thunder was given to me by Bill Packer after the Japanese nicknamed me Iron tsunami.

Where your family and friends supportive when you decided to become a Muay Thai fighter?
My dad and Mom spent most of their weekend driving me to competitions and training so they have always been supportive.

What is your current record ?
My total record is 179-54-3 with 81 KO’s, also 19 bare knuckle matches in SE Asia 13 World titles

What is your favorite strike ?
I love Knees and elbows.

Who was your biggest inspiration ?
I had a lot of inspirations in my career bt Tommy Williams taught me how to be a champion.

What team do you train with ?
I own and train Team Thunder Muay Thai and MMA

Do you prefer to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I love stand up but I am very comfortable on the ground as well. I wrestled most of my life and at the college level.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter means everything to me, it is a way of thinking never give up, always fight for what you want.

What weight did you fight at ?
I fought from 118lbs all the way to Heavy weight.

What do you think separated you from other fighters ?
I think my experience having fought in 43 countries and fought all different rule and styles make me more adaptable than most fighters.

If you were given an opportunity to step back in the ring or cage for one dream fight who would you want to fight and why ?
I always wanted to fight Ramon Dekkers but it never worked out. I would love to get a piece of Conner Mgregor who I think is average at best.

Who was your toughest fight ?
Man, I had a lot of tough fights! I would say every Thai: Saekson, Sakasem, Boonkerd, Bowy, Dida just to name a few.

What was your mindset going in to a fight ?
Going into a fight my mindset is calm in the storm, no matter what happens relax and take care of business.

What do you want to be remembered for ?
I hope to be remembered as a pioneer for both Muay Thai and MMA. I fought the very best there was.

What where your biggest accomplishments in the sport ?
My biggest accomplishment was being accepted into the WKA Hall of Fame (living legends) and what I do with my students.

Who was most influential to you in your career ?
Bill Packer (RIP) was very influential in getting me overseas fights.

Who do you think has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
I think fighters have the biggest impact on the sport, sometimes promoters forget that!

How would you describe your fighting style ?
My fighting style is Muay Thai with broken rhythm and level changes.

What drives or motivates ?
At this point what motivates me is training new champions and exposing the to the fight world.

What is something the fans might not know about David “Thunder” Cummings ?
Most people do not know that I had 88 amateur boxing matches as well as Wrestled from a kid through college.

What do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
I spend my free time with my wife Tammie Cummings and my 21 year old son Brandon.

What advice can you give to young fighters ?
The best advice I can give is always listen to your Coaches and when you think you are giving 100% give more!

What do you think you would be doing if you had never become a fighter ?
I can not imagine not being a fighter so I can’t even guess what I would do without it.

What got you ready to walk out to the ring did you have any pre fight rituals that prepared you to go to battle ?
I always wrapped my own hands that was my pre fight ritual that put me in the zone.

What was it like backstage and hearing your music play what went through your head as you walked out ?
When Thunderstruck by AC/DC came on I would always say time to make the Donuts!

Where do you see the sport of MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
I see in the next 5-10 years some of the other organizations who do not take sponsor money from the fighters will grow as big or bigger than the UFC.

What do you think is something that could change to make the sport of MMA better moving forward ?
I really think we need to change the gloves for less eye pokes. I lost my eye sight in my right eye at the end of my career and think we need more protection.

Who are some of your favorite fighters ?
There are a lot of fighters I like, of course I lean toward Muay Thai. Pnapayak is one of my favorites.

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
I want to shout out to all my fellow fighters and the Team Thunder family.

 

