This slideshow requires JavaScript.

January 14th 2016
Fighter Profile
Name – Emily Rady
Nickname – Five-Ohhh
Weight -185 pounds
Record – 2 wins 1 lose MMA
2 wins 1 lose kickboxing
Team – Warriors Muay Thai

Where are you from ?
I was born and raised in the small town of Ironwood in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula.

How long have you been training ?
I started in May of 2012 so it’s been about 3 1/2 years now.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I was 3 days into the Police Academy when my cousin convinced me to check out a local MMA gym. It took all of ten minutes of working with another female fighter who has become an incredible mentor, teammate, and friend to me, Amanda Wyatt, to realize that I needed every edge I could get to prepare myself for working in law enforcement.
Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
My fight name is ‘Five-Ohhh’, because of my career as a deputy sheriff.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
I trained for months before even considering wanting to take a fight. When I finally did, it was two weeks before fight night when a sparring session with my close friend, teammate, and mentor Missy Pontbriand when all of my training started really coming together and I realized how much I loved everything about fighting.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
My parents weren’t happy about it at first, but then again I think most parents of fighters struggle with hearing that their child wants to get punched in the face on a regular basis. As they saw it become a passion of mine and a big part of my life, they changed their view towards it and now I’m so thankful that they’re so supportive of me. I was even able to have my little nieces and nephews walk me out for one of my fights!

What is your current record ?
I’m currently 2-1 in MMA and 2-1 in kickboxing. My losses are to Justice Galloway for a heavyweight title belt. There was a 64 pound weight difference, but I had trained hard and wasn’t leaving without the fight. I lost by one point after a 5 round war, and won the belt. My other loss is to Kelly Richards via decision in my kickboxing match. It was a tough loss, but it fueled me to train harder and come back stronger.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
That’s a tough question, because I love to stand up and bang as much as I love groundwork, but I’d have to say I love a good straight right!

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
As I’ve mentioned, I’m extremely lucky to have the best teammates and mentors I could ask for in Amanda Wyatt and Missy Pontbriand. These awesome ladies have been there since the start, and no matter what we went through, we always stuck together as a team. I wouldn’t be where I am without them!

What team do you train with ?
I’m just coming back to the fight game after taking a few months off to help my sister with my niece, who was born with a rare genetic disorder. However, I’m proud to say that I train under 4 time National Kickboxer Gary Swanson at Warrior’s Muay Thai in Marquette, MI. Training with this team has also allowed me to work with boxing legend Al Mitchell, which is an incredible honor!

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I enjoy both aspects of the game. I love working stand up and doing some damage, but I know when to strike and when to take it to the ground.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter is more than a hobby or something you do to stay in shape. It’s a mentality, a character trait that tells you that no matter what you’re faced with, you keep pushing through it and you never give up. This applies in the gym, in the cage, and in every aspect of a fighter’s life.

What weight do you fight at ?
I’m currently a heavyweight, fighting at 185, but I’m steadily working my way back to where I started fighting at 155.

what do you think separates you from other fighters in your division ?
I’m stubborn as an ox and I don’t give up. I guess I have my parents to thank for stubborn genes!

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I don’t have a dream fight, but it would be an honor to train with Charmaine Tweet!

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
The Justice Galloway fight, hands down, is my toughest fight to date. Besides weighing in at 248 while I was at 184, Justice also had a plethora of experience and training to back her. We went to war for 5 brutal rounds, and to say she has heavy hands is an understatement! It was an all out war, and the judges scored in her favor. Nonetheless, this is also the fight I am most proud of, because I had overcome so much before ever stepping into the cage and I left everything I had in the cage. There’s no feeling that can compare to that.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
It depends what point I’m at. Weeks before, I’m calm and focused. Weigh in night, anxious and usually hangry from cutting weight.
Fight day always goes by entirely too quickly and too slowly at the same time it seems. But when my name is called and my fight song cues, my mind is clear and I’m only thinking of the moment at hand. It’s the most incredible feeling, and it becomes an addiction in a way.

Who are you fighting next ?
As I mentioned, I’m just getting back into my training after being off since May, so I don’t have any set fights planned yet.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want people to see the passion I have for the sport in every fight, there’s no greater compliment than that!

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Amanda Wyatt and Missy Pontbriand have been my mentors from the start. They’ve been my mentors, coaches, and helped me make connections with reputable matchmakers and promoters to work with.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Professionally, Ronda Rousey. Due to her dedication to the sport, she’s been monumental in bringing attention to women’s MMA. Regionally, Sheena Starr, because she has paved the way for female fighters in Michigan as well as many other states. She fights, she refs, she is a matchmaker, all while working and raising a family. She is an incredibly dedicated and hard-working woman, and I consider myself lucky to have had her corner coach one of my fights. She did so on last-minute notice while she was fighting on the same card, but she agreed without hesitating. She truly is a cornerstone of women’s MMA!

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I guess it would be freestyle. I train primarily Muay Thai and boxing, but I also enjoy BJJ and I’m a law enforcement defensive tactics instructor, so all of that really comes together in my fighting.

What drives or motivates you ?
I’m always pushing myself to improve, and fighting is a way of doing that mentally and physically.

What is something people might not know about you ?
Besides being a cop, I’ve been a snowboard instructor since I was 14.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I would still be in law enforcement, but I wouldn’t have the discipline and confidence that I have now because of who fighting has made me.

Do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
Once my hands are wrapped and signed off on, I put my hood up and listen to my fight song, Volbeat’s A Warrior’s Call, over and over and over again. I go through the fight in my head, think about how I’m going to execute my game plan, and going through different scenarios and how I will overcome any problems that may arise.

You’re backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
I don’t usually hear my music. I don’t hear the announcer or what the ref says before the bell rings. I’m focused and my mind is totally in the moment. It’s an amazing feeling!

Who is your favourite fighter ?
I’m a huge Charmaine Tweet fan! I think she’s done amazing things for the sport and yet she gives back to her community by training young ladies in the gym.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
Besides spending time with family, I love being outdoors. I enjoy snowboarding, snowshoeing, hitting the trails on my four-wheeler, kayaking, and pretty much anything that gets the adrenaline going!

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
I’ve learned an incredible amount about the different styles of fighting and about health and fitness. I’ve learned what the human body is capable of, from strength training to cutting weight to fighting, and it’s absolutely amazing!

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
I think that women, in general, have to prove themselves and earn their place in MMA. This sometimes starts in the gym while training with men. They’ll either tend to ‘go easy’ and treat us like Barbie dolls or they’ll use muscle instead of technique because they feel they need to prove their strength. This isn’t the case in all gyms, but I guarantee every female fighter has encountered it at least once.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Never let someone tell you you’re not good enough, or that you can’t do something. If your heart is in it, set your sights and don’t stop until you succeed!

Where do you see women’s mma in the next 5-10 years ?
I see WMMA exploding and gaining tons of publicity, thanks to the promotions like Invicta showcasing the amazing talent in the sport!

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
I see myself as a K9 handler in my professional life, and I’d love to make the transition to professional fighter and fight in the Invicta cage for Shannon Knapp!

What are your goals within the sport ?
Besides fighting at 155, I want to fight for Invicta and be signed as a pro.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Above all, my family and friends who have been my support system!
Also my coaches and teammates, who have been absolutely amazing to me! And, of course, my sponsors, Sicchic Fight Wear, MMARoadhog, IronJaw Mouthguards, Sinstar Ink, Airloop Glove Drying Ring, Pretty Dangerous Accessories, Sportsfood Electrolyte Strips, XionX negative ion bands, and DB Photography! These are the companies and people who make what I do possible! And, last but not least, anyone who has supported me in any way, be it an encouraging message or comment, sharing my fight page, a kind word when you see me, or staying on me to complete an interview 😉 You are what make me push myself harder each day to become the best I can! Thank you!
You can follow Emily by clicking on the link below and liking her fan page
https://www.facebook.com/FighterFiveOhhh/

