This slideshow requires JavaScript.

January 18th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Shania Rupinski
Weight – 125 – 135 pounds
Record – 0 wins 2 losses
Fighting out of Legacy MMA

Where are you from ?
I am from Hayden, Idaho.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been training all my life. But I started training seriously when I was about 11 years old.

How did you get in to MMA ?
My dad has been doing a wide variety of martial arts since I was a very young girl. And my grandfather on my dad’s side of the family was a Golden Glove boxer. So it’s in my blood to fight. I was also getting bullied in school really bad so my parents decided it was time to introduce me to the sport for self-defense.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
I don’t have a nickname yet. I have to earn it!

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
I don’t know if there was really a defining moment. MMA has been my life as long as I can remember. I’ve always watched the fights on tv and thought to myself that I would be there one day.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA?
At first, yeah. Mostly because they thought I was just doing it to learn how to defend myself. But when I actually started competing and got my first fight, my mom’s side of the family was pretty apprehensive about it. My mom has supported me in everything I do even if she didn’t agree with it. My dad is my coach so of course I’ve always had his support. As for my dad’s side of the family, I have always had 100% support from them because we are fighters. It’s what we do.

What is your current record ?
0-2.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
My favorite submission is the Armbar.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
There are a lot of people in my life who inspire me as a fighter. But if I had to pick one I would probably say Jordan Cook. He has always been a huge inspiration to me.

What team do you train with ?
Legacy MMA.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
Either way works for me! I love standing up and going to war but at the same time I love going to the ground.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter means having more courage and heart than anyone else on the planet.

What weight do you fight at ?
125-135 pounds.

What do you think separates you from other fighters in your division ?
I hit a lot harder than people would think.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Is this the part where I’m supposed to say I want to fight Ronda Rousey or something? Haha I honestly don’t have a dream fight.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
I’ve only had one so I guess that one! It wasn’t really a tough fight though.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I focus all my attention on the cage. Win, lose or draw. I’m only thinking about getting in there, having fun, and doing the best I can do. I forget that there is even a crowd around watching me.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to influence young girls and women everywhere to learn self-defense.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My dad Frank Rupinski and my mom Patricia Jennings

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
I’m a blue belt under the Gracie’s so I would probably have to say the Gracie family.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Freestyle.

What drives or motivates you ?
This has always been my dream. I am motivated everyday to be the best fighter I can be just because I have always dreamed of being great. I want to be known for that.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I collect My Little Pony Friendship is Magic figurines and I watch the show too!

What is your favourite fight quote or motto ?
Even when defeat surprises you, in reality, it’s just another step…Just another wall to jump over to reach your goal.”- Renzo Gracie

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Probably going to Culinary Arts school in Seattle, digging myself a nice little debt hole.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
Just seeing all the support I had before my fight was what pumped me up the most. I don’t have any pre fight rituals… Yet.

You’re backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
Oh man. This is really happening, alright let’s go put on a show.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
I don’t really have a favorite but if I had to pick one I would probably pick Holly Holm or Dominic Cruz.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
I enjoy writing and watching shows like House and Supernatural.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Getting in the cage for the first time was a big accomplishment for me in itself because I’ve had some injuries that I had to overcome in order to fight.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
Cutting weight and finding opponents has been the hardest for me as a woman. But for women in general I think that most people don’t take female MMA fighters very seriously. It’s like they see women’s MMA fights as cat fights.

What would you change in mma moving forward to make it better ?
I think MMA is climbing its way up the ranks pretty quickly. So nothing!

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Follow your dreams! Don’t ever limit yourself just because you have different parts than male fighters. You can do anything you put your mind to.

Where do you see women’s mma in the next 5-10 years ?
I see big things in the future of women’s MMA! I plan to be part of those big things.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
In the next 5 years I’m not sure where I’ll be. A lot can change in 5 years. I know I’ll be big in the MMA scene that’s for sure.

What are your goals within the sport ?
I have big dreams. I want to make it to the UFC. I definitely am going to go pro by next year hopefully.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I want to give a HUGE thanks to my awesome support system! I can’t thank all my friends and family enough for being so supportive of me. My boyfriend, Dakota Schnall, has been such an amazing training partner and has helped me a bunch. I don’t know what I would do without him. I can’t thank you enough Dakota!

To stay up to date with all the latest news from Shania click the link below and hit the like button on her fan page.
https://www.facebook.com/shaniarupinskimmafighter/

