rasputin3

February 6th 2016

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Henrique Gomes
Nickname – Rasputin
Weight – 145 pounds
Record – 9 wins 3 loses
Team – Nocaute Muay Thai

 

Where are you from ?
I’m from Brazil, São Paulo. Born and raised in the neighborhood of Tatuapé, the largest residential vertical neighborhood of São Paulo.

How long have you been training ?
I have been training in martial art since 1994, I started in Karate, then Capoeira, Kung fu, BJJ, Boxing and Muay Thai.

How did you get into MMA ?
I started in MMA in 2012. I did not have much notion of what it was or how it would be, but in the end, all worked out.
(Https://YouTube.be/ojF5zdZLuZs)

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
When I started training with Master João Paulo (Jhonny), he thought I looked like a Telecatch fighter from Brazil, and that’s how the nickname stuck.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
It was when I was invited to fight in the event Jungle Fight in an international fight against a Peruvian opponent. From that moment, I left my police career and began my professional training.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
Well, at first, only my father supported me, my mom, sisters and friends took a little more time. But today I have full support of all.

What is your current record ?
I have twelve fights, nine wins, seven of them by submission.

What is your favorite, strike or submission to use in a fight ?
I grew up in Jiu-jitsu, so I prefer the submission.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration is my girlfriend, Lilianna Bernartt, who helps, supports me and is with me in my training She’s the best.

rasputin1

What team do you train with ?
I’m training Bjj in the Hard Fight-Barbosa Team, and I’ve have my own Muay Thai Team – Nocaute.
I’m also training boxing in the Club Guarani and I have my personal coach – Sgt. Eduardo.
And, finally, I have the support of Power Lotus Team.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I like to fight with intelligence, taking advantage of my opponent’s mistakes, but I always prefer to fight on the ground.

rasputin4

What does being a fighter mean to you?
It means all to me. I’ve been doing this since I was a little boy an I love it.

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at featherweight 145 pounds.

What do you thinks separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I always fight to beat myself, to overcome me, to evolve.
I’m not worried about the guys in my division. Those who fight against me have to know they will be supporting my dream.

If you could have one dream fight who would be against and why ?
I always try to achieve what I want. I fight to win, so my goal always will be the belt, not the person. But these days it is Conor McGregor. What fighter doesn’t want it beat the champion ?

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
The toughest so far was Edmilson Kevin Sousa, currently in the UFC. I had a good first round, but I lost because the doctor stopped the fight in the second round cause I had an injury. I had a good chance of winning that fight.
(Https://YouTu.be/pjz1Ylgh0Bc)

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I think about all the possibilities. The great and the worst one. I prepare my mind for everything that could happen.

Who are you fighting next ?
I’m recovering from an injury and I don’t have an opponent yet. I will try to fight in #BATALHAMMA, on April 9, but I’m waiting for the ok from my doctors.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
For my willpower, that makes me never give up. I always try to influence people to be better.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
It was being included as seventh in the MMA Brazilian Ranking. I am very proud of it.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
The person who most influenced me is my coach, Sgt. Eduardo. After I started training with him, I never missed.

rasputin5

How do you describe your fighting style ?
I am patient. As I told you before, I always try to fight using intelligence.

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
Proving to my family, friends and fans that it is worth it to fight for a dream, and that’s its up to you to achieve it.

What is something people might not know about you ?
That I was a police officer in São Paulo for six years.

When you are not in the gym training, what do you like to do in your free time?
I like to be with my girlfriend and friends, watch TV and cook for my family.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
I advise everyone to try to fight with intelligence, because the fight begins long before we get into the cage. I advise also attempting to learn and evolve with their opponents.

What do you think you would be doing today if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I’m not sure what I would be doing, but whatever it was, I’m sure i would be doing it with extreme dedication.

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
I have a ritual that is called mental screen. I learned from my father and stepmother, who are psychologists. I always do this before entering the cage.

Your backstage your music plays what is going through your head as you walk out to the cage ?
I try to listen to my coach carefully. I also try to relax, stay in peace and quiet to ensure another victory.

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5-10 years ?
MMA is the fastest growing sport and I hope that it remains increasingly high.

What do you think is something that you could change to make the sport of MMA better moving forward ?
I think there should be more respect for the professional athlete.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Sakuraba, for me he’s the best.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
First, I would like to thank God. Then I want to thank my family, girlfriend and friends for the unconditional love and support. I also want to thank my coach and my teachers and all those who support me.

rasputin6

To stay up to date with all the late breaking news from Henrique follow the link below to check out his fan page

https://www.facebook.com/henriquegomesrasputin/

