This slideshow requires JavaScript.

February 8th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Juliano Coutinho
Nickname – Banana
Weight – 265 pounds
Pro Record – 7 wins 3 loses
Fighting out of Team Juniko

Where are you from ?
Born and raised in Rio de Janeiro Brazil.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been training in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu over 20 years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I got into MMA because of Mike Gresh Loco Lobo.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
My nickname is a mystery hahahahaha
I got it from the amount of bananas I used to eat all day long. One of my buddies picked the perfect moment when all our friends were together to call me banana and everyone agreed with him and since that day they have never stopped lol.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to be a fighter ?
I was looking for a way to get in shape lose some weight and I found Jiu Jitsu in my life and from that moment I didn’t want to be a fighter yet until my instructor Daniel Gracie signed me up for my first tournament after a month of training, I thought he was crazy, I thought I wasn’t ready yet, realistic I was so afraid to get in there and after I did it I couldn’t stop, it’s a crazy addiction. Then after a long time you get involved with people who are doing that for a living and I thought it was a good lifestyle for me as well.

Where your family and friends supportive when you decided to become a fighter ?
Man I shouldn’t say they were supportive but they are the reason that I fight at the end of the day. My mom is very religious every time I told her I had a fight coming up, she would say I will pray for you, but I think she was doing the wrong prayer, lol she was probably praying for me not to fight because it was hard to get fights locally lol.

What is your current record ?
My current record is 7-3.

What is your favorite strike ?
My favorite strike is a round house leg kick.

What is your favorite submission ?
favorite submission is the rear naked choke.

Do you like to stand and bang with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
As everyone knows I’m a ground fighter, but it doesn’t mean I don’t feel comfortable standing up, I have a few tricks under my sleeve in the striking area.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration is my instructor Daniel Gracie. Seeing him fighting in Japan and all over the world and carrying the Gracie legacy is very inspiring to me.

What team do you train with ?
I train with team JUNIKO and Sityodtong along with instructors like Daniel Gracie , Mike Gresh , Mark Dellagrotte and Tyson Chartier.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter means everything to me it means the ability to show my family and team they are the reason that I have the balls to get in their carrying the flag inside the battle zone and represent our name. Also means that I have to focus on what I’m doing along the way because you never know who you are inspiring and if that’s the case…. I want to be a great role model.

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at heavyweight 265lbs.

What separates you from other fighters ?
I think what separates me from the other fighters is the passion I have for my art form and with the MMA I have the ability to prove it most of the time.

If you were given one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
I think my dream fight would be against Mark Kerr I used to love watching his battles.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
My toughest fight till now I always say it is Eric bedard, I fought a 3 rounds against him winning by unanimous decision but boy…. Let me tell you, he dropped me in the second round I was seeing 3 of him in front of me, but luckily I picked the one in the middle lol.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
My mindset going into a fight is kill or be killed.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered as respectful, passionate and fun to watch.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Never quit.

What has Been your biggest accomplishment so far ?
My biggest accomplishment was when I got my heavyweight belt from CFX.

Who has been most influential to you ?
The Person who has the most influential impact in my career is Loco Lobo…. Always pushing me to keep going.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
A ground and pound fighter.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
The person who has the biggest impact on the sport to me right now is Conor McGregor. He talks a lot but he doesn’t step away from a challenge.

What drives or motivates you ?
My family and team drives me.

When you’re not training what do you like to do in your free time ?
If I’m not training I’m hanging with friends and family doing some BBQ haha.

What advice can you give to young fighters ?
If you want to become a fighter don’t be an asshole, pick the right coaches, never leave them, trust the process and become a world champion.

What do you think you would be doing of you had not become a fighter ?
I would be a cook, I love to cook and eat everything, maybe that’s why I’m a heavyweight

What is something people might not know about you ?
Let me see what people don’t know about me…… Being a teacher made me become a psychologist ,lawyer, consular and many other skills Hahahah.

What gets you hyped up for a fight ?
What gets me hyped up for a fight is the fact someone is up for a challenge.

Do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
My ritual is always pray for me and my opponent not to get hurt.

Where do you see the sport of MMA I’m 5-10 years ?
I see a lot of young ones who are training now and putting the time in showing a lot of skills and competitiveness in the cage.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Rodrigo Minotauro Nogueira.

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
I would like To say thanks to Mark Featherstone my strength and conditioning coach and all my sponsors.
Absolute consultant building
Starbuck painting
Brax landing restaurant
Clean eats delivery
Pedro Blanco photography

To stay up to date with all the latest news from Banana click the link below and drop a like on his fan page
https://www.facebook.com/Juliano-Banana-Coutinho-856759727…/

To stay up to date on all the latest from Team Juniko click the link below
https://www.facebook.com/JunikoHyannis/

 

