raheem1

February 12th 2016
Fighter Profile
Name – Raheem Kinney
Nickname – The Predator
Weight – 205 pounds
Record – 10 wins 4 loses
Team – Bushido

 
Where are you from ?
I am from Fulton Kentucky.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been training for about 5 yrs now.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
My nickname ? I don’t really have one but at the fight they called me the predator. I guess they called me that because of my dreads lol just like the movie predator.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
I knew I wanted to become a fighter when football season was over with during school I would always get in a lot of trouble after football season. Football was the only thing that kept me sane, now it’s fighting in a cage.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
My family wasn’t supportive at first but they eventually came around to it.

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination to use in a fight ?
Honestly I don’t have a favorite strike or submission. I just go in and do the first thing that comes to mind.

What is your current record ?
My record is now 10-4 after this past Saturday.

What team do you train with ?
I train with Bushido out of Mayfield, Kentucky.

raheem6

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration would have to be the father of MMA Bruce Lee.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
Ground or standing up I’m still throwing gloves so I like both.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter to me means I’ve always had to fight in life, I have always had ups and downs but I won’t quit. I won’t quit in life nor the cage. A true fighter won’t give up that’s what it means to me.

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at 205 pounds.

What separates you from other fighters ?
I think what separates me from others in my division is that, I barely train if ever because of a Crazy work schedule. I really only train when it’s time to fight and I’ll still have a dominate performance well…except my last fight hahahahaha. My last full training camp was before Ben Parrish and I fought. So I guess that’s what separates us is our training camps and performance.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
My dream fight is to fight Jon Jones, I’ve wanted to fight him since he came out. I love challenges, I love good fights, I love fights that’ll make me push myself and I believe me fighting Jon Jones would really test me where I would want to be tested at.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
My toughest fight ? That’s actually a good question….I’ve had several tough fights. I would say every fight I’ve had has been tough.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
My mindset going into a fight is clean and clear. The main thing that goes in my head is don’t let him beat you.

Who are you fighting next ?
I don’t know  who I’m fighting next but it’ll be April 19th in Dickson, Tennessee I’m defending the 205 belt for that promotion.

What holes or weaknesses do you see in your opponents game that you can exploit ?
There are holes and weaknesses in everybody’s game including mine. My main thing is I like to test out somebody’s heart. See if they can really dig deep in a fight.

What promotion are you fighting ?
I don’t have a set promotion I fight for, I mainly just fight wherever I see a fight card haha.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered as a humble competitor who will fight anyone anywhere anytime.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
My favorite quote would have to be, the mind is a terrible thing to waste by the honorable Martin Luther King Jr.

raheem5

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Most influential ? Probably would have to be the fans and supporters. They give me a thrill, I’m not known everywhere but the fans and supporters are very influential especially younger fans. The younger fans kinda got a hold on me.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
I would say Anderson Silva, I might get ridiculed but you gotta give the man his props. Who else has had the belt for 7 or 8 years….I’ll wait hahah.

What is your greatest accomplishment in the sport ?
Biggest accomplishment is winning my championship belt.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
My fighting style is actually something to watch. From what I’ve heard I have an interesting fighting style. Me honestly, I can’t even explain my fighting style.

What drives or motivates you to compete ?
My drive and motivation would have to be just get better and provide for my family.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I like to fish, ATV, etc outdoors man really.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time?
I like to work, go outdoors and enjoy life.

raheem4

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
My advice would be, if you have your mind-set to become a fighter you can do it. You’ll enjoy it.

What do you think you would be doing if you where had not become a fighter?
I’m not done, I have other things I want to do. You can’t put all your eggs in one basket. Have to keep your mind open to many things. Nothing wrong with opening your mind so that’ll also be my advice to fighters and everyone across the world. Nothing wrong with opening your mind, never put all your eggs in one basket. Unless that’s something you wanna do for the rest of your life.

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
I get hyped off music and sleeping before I fight.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
I see myself at the top.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Anderson silva.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I would like to thank promoters for letting me fight on their shows. Also would like to thank supporters and fans across the world. I love my fans and supporters thanks for everything.

raheem2

