February 13th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Shawna Ormsby
Nickname – Bam Bam
Weight – 105 pounds
Record – 6 wins 6 loses
Team – Carlson Gracie Central Florida / UFC GYM Winter Springs.

 

Where are you from ?
I was born in Buffalo New York and lived in Niagara Falls for 8 years until I moved to Titusville Florida and have been there ever since.

 

How long have you been training ?
I started training in October 2013.

 

How did you get in to MMA ?
I started training MMA because I went through a breakup and had so much time on my hands I wanted to find a new hobby. I was always working and started driving myself crazy. An old high school friend was a BJJ blue belt/MMA fighter and started telling me more about it. This is the same time TUF with Ronda Rousey and Meisha Tate came on, so I started watching it and fell in love with the fact that as females they looked so strong and confident, I wanted to be that.

 

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
My Coach gave me my nick name because of my very first kickboxing fight. My one, twos were on point and strong just like little Bam Bam from the Flintstones. Plus after I chopped my hair off, I looked like the female version of him lol.

 

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
I knew I wanted to become a fighter when I did something completely out of my comfort zone and broke out of my shell. My whole life I’ve been this shy person and living this life as a fighter has completely changed me and my outlook on life.

 

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
My whole family has been very supportive. My mom is all about girl power and it did take my dad some time to understand why his little girl wants to beat people up but now that he’s seen such a change in me, he’s 100% with me. My friends are happy to see me more confident and outgoing.

 

What is your current record ?
My record is 6-6

 

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
I can’t give away any secrets to future opponents.

 

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration is my team at UFC GYM Winter Springs. Besides being a fighter, I am also the General Manager of UFC GYM Winter Springs. I have grown with these guys since I’ve started. My Coach and Head Coach of our gym Joey Caballero has never given up on me and gave me a chance to start fighting when I had no idea what I was doing. Mike Perry and Alex Nicholson have been with me since their Pro Debuts and are now either Undefeated and in the UFC. Craig Duncan and Miguel Cruz are such amazing Boxers and are making their names known.

What team do you train with ?
Carlson Gracie Central Florida under 4th degree Black Belt Rinaldo Santos and UFC GYM Winter Springs.

 

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I prefer to stand up. I am always the smaller person and I really enjoy throwing punches and seeing them fall.

 

What does being fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter means becoming a role model and influence to people who need someone to look up to.

 

What weight do you fight at ?
I prefer to fight at Atom Weight, 105lbs. But have fought catch weights all the way up to 117lb.

 

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I think what separates me from other fighters is my will to never give up. I’ve beaten quite a few girls that have cried and said they were not fighting again and most have not fought again. I lost my first couple fights and I never gave up. If I had given up, I wouldn’t have won 2 World Titles and 1 State Title is less than 6 months.

 

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
A dream fight of mine would be every girl I’ve ever lost too. I know that’s more than one but I know I am capable of beating all of them.

 

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
My toughest fight to date was a girl I fought in Jacksonville. She was a very good wrestler and strong. It made me realize what I needed to work on and I was very thankful to find that out early in my career.

 

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
My mindset gets very angry going into a fight. I think of what I want to do to that person to get myself pumped up.

 

Who are you fighting next ?
I am in the works of scheduling an MMA fight in April but I have a few BJJ tournaments scheduled before that.

 

What promotion are you fighting for ?
I fight for different Promotions.

 

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered for never giving up and never letting anybody take something away from me. To get to the top you will have to fall. The question is if you’re going to work hard to get there or give up.

 

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
The most influential to me is my Coach Joey Caballero. He didn’t have to take the time to train me, a small girl who had no experience and walked into the gym saying teach me how to fight. I’ve known him since he just received his purple belt in BJJ and is now testing for his Black Belt next year. He always remind me hard work pays off.

 

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
The biggest impact on the sport will always be Ronda Rousey. She showed the world that Women are capable of putting on a good show and that we can have skills in fighting.

 

How would you describe your fighting style ?
My fighting style is well-rounded. Since I started training and learning all styles at once because I had no prior experience, I like to think I’ve been able to have a well rounded style.

 

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
What drives and motivates me is my passion for the sport. It’s pure obsession with wanting to get better and better.

 

What is something people might not know about you ?
Something people may not know about me is that before I started training and fighting I wanted to become a Vet and use to work at a Bird Sanctuary for 3 years.

 

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
If I hadn’t found fighting, I would have went to college to become a vet tech and eventually a vet.

 

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
My coach and teammates help me get hyped up before my fights. We always get in a big circle and say a team prayer and while we’re waiting to be called we listen to music until the time comes. My coach always seems to know what to say and how to get us angry at that person to make us more aggressive.

 

your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
As soon as I hear my music I go into a black hole where all I see is the cage and the path I have to walk to get there.

wp-1476543392027.jpg

Who is your favorite fighter ?
One of my favorite fighters is Demetrious “Mighty Mouse” Johnson. He is the reigning champ of the UFC for a reason and I can relate to him so much because we are both very small fighters. He also always puts on a show which is what I always try to do!

 

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
In my free time I try to go relax at the beach since I live only 15 minutes away. I also spend time with my 2 dogs and bird to make sure I give them attention since I spend most of my time at the gym.

 

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
My biggest accomplishment in this sport was during the year of 2014 when I won 3 Titles Belts in Kickboxing/Muay Thai in less than 6 months. My IKF title I won in South Carolina and had 2 fights in one day and got my first TKO in 1 minute and 37 second. I was tired and wanted to go home which I think gave me my motivation.

 

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
I think getting the proper training is the biggest challenge for us women in MMA. I have such a hard time finding girls close to me to train and have to train mostly with bigger guys. It does make me strong in the long run but girls and guys fight differently and the body weight feels different so it’s not always an advantage.

 

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
My advice I always give young female fighters is to cry off the pain or bad day you will have and show up the next day because it will be worth it and you’ll be sorry if you decided to give up.

 

Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
I see women’s MMA becoming more prosperous in the next 5-10 years. I think there will be much more fights with women on cards which will hopefully open up more divisions and more promotions with women fighters.

 

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
5 years from now I will be 29 years old. I hope to be earning my black belt in BJJ and having at least 30 professional fights under my name. I want to have credentials to my name to one day open up my own gym.

 

What are your goals within the sport ?
My goals with this sport is to be able to say I have traveled the world and trained with the best. If I can say this, then I know I am conquering my sport and will one day have a World Champion belt around my waste.

 

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I want to thank my Coach Joey Caballero for never giving up on me and giving me all these opportunities I’ve had. Shout out to my whole team/family at UFC GYM Winter Springs and Carlson Gracie Central Florida.

wp-1476543436231.jpg

