February 14th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Brendan Battles
Nickname – LockDown
Weight – 250 pounds
Record – 1win 1 loss
Team – Juniko / Sityotong Boston

Where are you from ?
I’m from Eastham, Massachusetts.

How long have you been training ?
I have been training MMA just over a year now.

How did you get in to MMA ?
Ever since I wrestled, I always knew i wanted to fight in the cage. Grappling being my overall passion it was an awesome transition into MMA.
Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
At first dropping out of school, my family and friends gave me a lot of criticism for pursuing my MMA dream. Rightfully so, when I had a full ride. However, they also know when i set my mind to something, it’s a done deal and nothings gonna get in my way until i accomplish what i set out to do. And they’ve been very supportive from that day.

 

What is your current record ?
As a pro I am 1 and 1.

 

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
I don’t have any favorite strikes or submissions, just whatever gets the job done.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration would be my father, Jason Battles. He is the man who taught me my work ethic. I hope one day my son looks up to me the way i look up to him.

What team do you train with ?
I train with Juniko, and Sityotong.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I don’t have a preference where the fight goes. I love to bang on the feet and with my grappling background I love being on the ground as well. Wherever the fight goes I am prepared

What does being fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter to me is a lifestyle, everything i do in my daily regimen is to be a better fighter. But martial arts, especially from my wrestling background teaches you life lessons that you don’t get from any other sport. So each day as you grow in the fight game, most of those values can be instilled in your daily life to make you a better man than you were the day before. And i truly believe that is what life should be about constantly growing and becoming better day by day.

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight around 250 pounds

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I think what separates me from other fighters in my division is one my age, being young at 21. But more importantly my work ethic, i honestly feel i outwork my competition. I would love to see my competition try to do what i do in one day. Between fishing on the boat for hours on end, to traveling 4 hours round trip to train. I really don’t take any days off.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Both of my fights have been quick work so its fair to say I havent been tested in the cage. Which is unfortunate, i am looking for a challenge cause that’s when we all will see what i am truly made of. I’m sure i wont disappoint when that time comes.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Before a fight, i tend to think of the decade of work i have put in. And how hard i have worked to get to this point. And ill be damned if someone is going to take that. And now having a family of my own to provide for, the stakes are higher. It’s not just for me. I fight for a better lifestyle for my girlfriend and our son. All the sacrifices we have already made as a family, ill be damned if i let that go out the window.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
By the end of my career I’d like to be remembered as a grinder, a man with tremendous work ethic. And who would really fight anyone, any time.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My coaches, Juliano Coutinho and Mike Gresh would have the most impact on me in my career, being my coaches and people I go to for advice in the sport as well as in life. Doesn’t get any better than em!

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
I think george st pierre had the most impact on the sport cause he was the start to the complete martial artist. He would grapple with the best, strike with the best, wrestle with the best. Needless to say, his work put him as a long time champ and pound for pound greatest.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
My fight style is very athletic for the heavyweight class, and just a grinder. I’m gonna be in your face until you give up, then I wont stop until the ref pulls me off of you.

What drives or motivates you ?
What drives me would have to be my son and my girlfriend. I guess that goes without saying now. I’m fighting to provide a better lifestyle for my family, a very comfortable lifestyle. And to have my son to be proud to call me his father.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
If I hadn’t become a fighter, I’m not sure what I would be doing. Except a lot more fishing. Haha.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
Before a fight I try to stay calm as possible. But before i go out I always listen to the same Playlist I’ve listened to back in my wrestling days. I like to keep it all the same.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
My favorite fighter would have to be George St. Pierre.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
When I’m not working or training, I like to spend time with my family and friends. Go on the outer beach, or go fishing.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
I’m still fairly new to the sport so its fair to say I havent accomplished anything yet, or anything significant enough for me to call it an achievement.

What advice can you give to young fighters ?
Advice I would give any beginner of MMA would be that to simply enjoy every day of training, this sport is filled with emotions. A Rollercoaster if you will. But always make sure you’re having fun.

Where do you see MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
Obviously the sport of MMA is growing every event, I think in the next 5 to 10 years the UFC will be very comparable to the NFL and other top athletic organizations

