alannah2

February 18th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Alannah Arnett
Nickname – A. Kaye 47
Weight – 115 pounds
Record – 2 wins 0 losses
Team – Reaction MMA

 
Where are you from ?
I was born and raised in Corbin Kentucky.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been training for a while. I can’t exactly remember the point in my life where I began taking it seriously.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I started out in Tae Kwon Do when I was just a kid. My love for striking started there.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
My full name is Alannah Kaye Arnett and people struggle with my first name. So, people started calling me A. Kaye and you can see where it goes from there. That’s where “A. Kaye 47” was born.

alannah3

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
I can’t say there was a day that I opened my eyes and I said “I want to get punched for fun”, but I was the smaller and younger kid in my classes growing up and I was constantly bullied because I was almost 2 years behind the other kids. When you’re being bullied like that you dream of a day you can stand up to those people. That’s when I started training and my love of training brought me here today.

Where your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
Of course your mom is never going support the thought of her daughter getting in the cage, but she supports my passion. My dad has always been my #1 fan in life. As far as friends, fans, and training partners. . . they helped me be there person I am today.
What is your current record ?

I’m currently 1-0 with 2 scheduled bouts in April. So, hopefully 3-0 soon haha.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
My favorite strike is the slap hook. It’s fun to do!

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My daughter. She was born 12 weeks early. She was 2 lbs 15 oz. She’s now a healthy 3 yr old. She’s been a fighter since day 1.

What team do you train with ?
I just recently relocated to Reaction MMA with head coach Rob Nickerson. I can’t wait to do great things with them.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I’m really about the game plan! Whatever needs to happen to make the fight go my way.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
That’s incredibly tough. Being a fighter means displaying perseverance and self-control in every aspect of your life.

what weight do you fight at ?
I took a heavy fight for my first one just to get a fight under my belt. I’m on the lookout for fights at 105-115lbs.

What do you think separates you from the other fighters in your division ?
My love for the sport. . even the blood sweat and tears.

If could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Joanna Jedrzejczyk. She is my inspiration. I would love to see her as a peer one day.

What is your mindset going In to a fight ?
Don’t quit give it 110 percent.

Who are you fighting next ?
Linda Mihalec

what holes or weaknesses do you see in her game that you can exploit ?
Honestly, she’s 0-0 I think. I just have to assume she has a fairly well-rounded game.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Warrior FC april 9th and Hardrock MMA april 23rd

Date and time of your next fight ?
April 9th at Harlan Civic center. Bell time is 7:00 pm.

What do you wanted to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
overcoming adversity.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
For women that’s easy, Rhonda Rousey. She’s paved the way for the rest of us.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My coach(and boyfriend for a time) Scott Hope. He shared his love for BJJ and striking with me and pushed me to want more.

What drives or motivates you ?
I wish I could figure it out. Every day is such a blessing. I guess waking up knowing that I’m blessed with another day is inspiration enough.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I’d be in the military somewhere. I have nothing but respect for the men and women who serve our country and if I weren’t here that’s what I would be doing.

What gets you hyped for a fight ?
The stare down gets me hyped.

Do you have any pre fight rituals?
Leading up the night of the fight my daily routine doesn’t change.

Your backstage your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
It’s oddly just bliss and silent.

who is your favorite fighter ?
Holly Holm. She is athletic, talented, and is a great role model for women. Despite her recently loss.. . she is my hero.

When you’re not training what do you do with your free time ?
Drink coffee and watch The Office.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
it depends on how you measure success. I measure success in happiness. My biggest accomplishment is having a successful youth program and watching them grow in to talented young competitors.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
Smaller weight classes.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
find whatever inspires you to be the best you can be and hold on tight.

Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
I see it being where men’s MMA is now.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
with a professional MMA record and a successful women’s/youth program

What are your goals in the sport ?
To give it all of the time and effort that I possibly can.

Is there anyone you want to thank ?
My awesome sponsors Breakpoint Fc, Combat Skin, Epitomie Fitness, and Machina boxing. They have given me the gear I’ve needed along the way to the best the best I can be. I also want to thank my coaches, family, and training partners who have pushed me every day to be the best version of myself.

alannah4

