February 21st 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Chris Foster
Nickname – Cassius
Weight – 145 pounds
Record – 9 wins 4 loses
Fighting out of DCNU

Where are you from ?
I’m from Meriden Connecticut

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been training for 10 years

How did you get in to MMA ?
I was introduced to the sport by Jason Bennet, who was also my boxing coach throughout high school, and started training under Randy Rowe.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
Cassius was given to me by Randy Rowe, because of the way I moved and utilized my jab.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
I always enjoyed the art of combat, but that defining moment that I knew, was after my first pro fight winning by KO

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
Yes my family and friends were very supportive and still are.

What is your current record ?
9-4.

What is your favorite strike ?
My Jab

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My Father, he has supported me throughout my entire fight career and inspired me to do what I loved, and he backs my 100%

What team do you train with
I train with DCNU in Rockyhill CT

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
with a nickname like Cassius you already know what I like to do.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
to me a fighter isn’t just fighting in a cage or ring, its someone who mentally pushes themselves through any challenging task they come across in life.

What weight do you fight at ?
145lbs

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I’m Exciting to watch and always come into the cage ready for a battle, im not afraid to exchange shots and make exciting fights for the fans

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Bruce Lee, I would have loved to spar with one the greats

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Andres Judi, that was a long 5 round battle.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I go into each fight with the kill or be killed mindset, because I know my opponent is thinking the same thing.

Who are you fighting next ?
Felipe Lavandoski.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in his game that you can exploit ?
Everyone has a weaknesses, and my coaches set up a game plan to exploit them.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Bellator.

Date and time of your next fight ?
April 22nd.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
one of the top 5 most exciting fighters in mma

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
“whatever the mind can conceive and believe, it can achieve”

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Winning my first pro title.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My Coaches, Jason Bennett, Rob Cipriano, and Danilo Cherman

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
My teammates I train with daily, without them I wouldn’t of made it this far in the sport.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
stick and move.

What drives or motivates you ?
Myself, and striving to better myself each day.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I work with children and teens that have a range of emotional, behavioral, and psychological issues, helping them get better in the program.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
I barley having any free time between work and training, but when I do find time im just relaxing with family and friends.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
humble your self in the sport, more people will respect you as a fighter and want to work with you to see you get better.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Working with kids, which im pretty much doing along with fighting.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
all I need is my music and my coaches, no rituals.

Where do you see the sport of mma in 5-10 years ?
legal in all states.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
I don’t have a favorite fighter, I just like exciting fighters.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Thank you to my Management Prime Elite Management (a division of Prime Athletics Corporation). Thank you to his main gym and training partners at DCNU/The Cage, Thank you to Hard Knocks Muay Thai in Hyde Park and Ultimate MMA for allowing me to cross train there. Thank you to Northeast Financial Strategies, The Patino Diet, Apple Auto Wholesalers, X-ion-X, and Clean Eats Delivery.

