brooke7

February 27th 2016

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Brooke Mayo
Nickname – The Bully
Weight – 125 pounds
MMA Record – 6 wins 2 losses
Muay Thai Record – 4 wins 0 losses
Team – Ralph Gracie Jiu Jitsu

 

 

Where are you from ?
I’m from Pleasanton California.

 

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been training for 2 1/2 years.

 

How did you get into MMA ?
I used to be a collegiate soccer player but ended up sustaining an injury that ended my soccer career. I had chronic exertional compartment syndrome in both my lower legs that prevented me from lifting and running at the rate I was used to. Someone suggested I go try Jiu Jitsu and so I took my first class at Ralph Gracie Jiu Jitsu Dublin and was addicted to Jiu Jitsu right away.

 

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
I got my nick name from some of my old teammates at Dynamic MMA Modesto. I would always train with big higher belts. they would always laugh at me because I was small but really aggressive. They would joke and tell me to stop being such a bully and the nick name stuck.

 

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
My mom and grandma were both kind of upset when I first told them I was going to fight. They were obviously really worried about me getting hit and getting hurt. My dad and little sister were really excited for me and everyone else thought it was a phase and that I might be over it within a few months.

 

What is your current record ?
I’m 6-2 in MMA and 4-0 in Muay Thai.

 

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
I love head kicks and axe kicks. On the ground I love arm bars.

 

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration is Rose Namajunas. I love her fighting style and her personality.

brooke6

What team do you train with ?
I train with Team Black and Ralph Gracie Jiu Jitsu in SF.

 

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I am comfortable standing and on the ground.

 

What does being fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter to me means being a martial artist. True martial artists respect the art of fighting, their opponents, teammates, and coaches. As a fighter you’re constantly growing technically as well as spiritually. I have learned a lot about myself as a person through each day of training and in each of my fights.

 

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at 125 and 135.

 

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I think what separates me is my willingness to fight in any setting under any conditions . I compete not only in MMA, but also in Muay Thai and Jiu Jitsu. I also plan on making my boxing debut this year. I have also competed in several different weight classes. I feel like I am constantly working really hard to improve myself as a fighter.

 

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I would love to fight Andrea KGB Lee.

 

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
My toughest fight has been against Yaya Rincon. She is a very strong opponent.

 

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
My mindset going into a fight is to take what is there and try not to force anything. Before I enter the cage, I try to be as relaxed and happy as possible. I don’t like fighting angry.

brooke5

Who are you fighting next ?
I’m fighting Megan Little next.

 

What promotion are you fighting for ?
I am fighting for Global Knockout March 26th.

 

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered as an exciting fighter that was well rounded and tough.

 

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Dan Black has been the most influential person in my career. He’s pushed me to do things that I never thought I would do and he’s had me fight and defeat opponents I never thought I could beat.

brooke1

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Ronda Rousey has had the biggest impact on MMA.

 

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I would say my style is unorthodox. I mix Muay Thai with boxing and Jiu Jitsu.

 

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
My family drives me to be successful. I really want to make them proud. I am also motivated because I look at my MMA career as a second shot at being an athlete. After my soccer career ended unexpectedly, I never thought I was going to be able to compete in a sport ever again. Now that I have a second chance at competing as an athlete, I appreciate every second of the process whether it’s just training or actually fighting. I truly love what I do and I think this proves everything happens for a reason.

 

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I would be an elementary school teacher if I wasn’t fighting but that’s still something I will do after my fight career is over.

brooke3

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to step in the cage ?
I try to take a nap a few hours before I fight to help me relax. I also jump twice and touch my knees to my chest once I enter the cage. That means it’s go time.

 

Your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
When my music starts playing I will smile and laugh and I think to myself I’m so lucky to get the opportunity to walk into this cage right now. No matter what happens in their Im happy to be here right now and I’m going to do my best.

 

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Rose Namajunas and Holly Holm are my favorite fighters

 

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
If I’m not training Im usually working but I enjoy yoga, hiking, and swimming. I also like to cook and sometimes draw.

brooke2

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
My biggest accomplishment was my head kick KO win in one of my MMA fights. Also, being 4-0 in Muay Thai was a pretty big accomplishment for me

 

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
I think the biggest challenge for women in MMA is being overly sexualized and not being taken seriously in the gym. It’s unfortunate because there is serious talent in WMMA but most people are only looking at outer beauty and not technical ability.

 

Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
WMMA is going to be huge in the next 5-10 years in terms of participation and viewers. I see them creating more weight classes for females at the professional level and in the UFC.

 

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
I see myself in the UFC within 5 years and I will be a flyweight title holder.

 

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I want to thank my coaches Dan Black, Kurt Osiander, and Ralph Gracie. I also want to thank my teammates at Team Black and Ralph Gracie Jiu Jitsu. I want to thank my sponsors Knoxx Gear, Lanas Eggwhites, DeltaTacticalTraining, Xternal Rub, DC Solar, Stone Rum, Hair By LCC, Strike First Nutrition, Iron Bunny Supply, Action Pro Gear, and Sporting Smiles. I also want to thank my family for being so supportive of me and my dreams I want to thank my teammates who are inspirations to me specifically Matt Baker Xavier Vigney and Nick Pica.

brooke4

 

