lizzy6

March 3rd 2016

 
Fighter Profile
Name – Lizzy Crowley
Weight – 125 pounds
Record – 8 wins 2 loses
Team – SFS

 

 
Where are you from ?
I am from West Branch Michigan.

 

How long have you been training ?
I have been training for almost 3 years in MMA but I have also participated in other sports.

 

How did you get into MMA ?
My mom & step-dad owned a gym, my step dad was focused on MMA and I grew up around the sport. It was only a matter of time before I got involved with it.

 

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
I currently don’t have a nickname.

 

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
I was young, I wanna say around 12 or 13 when I went to my moms fight, I seriously fell in love with the sport, I knew it was something I would be good at. Obviously I couldn’t at that age but my motivation to fight only grew stronger over the years, so when I was 15 I took my first fight.

 
Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to begin competing in MMA?
My mom had been a fighter for a while and my dad also enjoyed the sport. My family has always supported me in whatever I wanted to do.

 

What is your current record ?
8-2.

 

When you step in the cage do you like to stand and bang with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I enjoy both honestly. But standing & throwing would have to be my favorite.

 

What team do you train with ?
I train at SFS & True Fighter.

lizzy2

What weight do you fight at ?
125 pounds.

 

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
Joanna Jedrzejczyk, I really like how fast she is & how she’s so good.

 

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
I’ve had a couple tough fights, but I wanna say Angie Jennings, we beat the crap out of each other for 3 rounds, we really showed our heart & love for what we do in that fight.

 

What is your mindset going into a fight ?
My mindset is I’m going into a fight, I know it’s my time to shine & display all my hard work & skill.

 

Who are you fighting next ?
Jamie Millanowski.

lizzy1

 

What holes do you see in her game that you can take advantage of ?
Jamie is a really tough girl, I know it will be one hell of a fight.

 

What promotion are you fighting for ?
KOP.

 

Date and time of your next fight ?
March 26th, 7pm.

 

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Both of my parents. My moms been there to push me until I felt like I couldn’t go anymore. My dad has always showed me support & they’ve both told me I can do anything if I set my mind to it. I wouldn’t be where I am today without them.

 

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
I think Ronda, as much as I dislike her, but she is the reason why women are in the UFC, she’s done a lot for the sport.

 

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
My drive is I want to be the best, I want to be a Champion, fighting in the UFC, I don’t just want my dreams to be dreams, I want them to become a reality & my goal is to make that happen.

 

What do you think you would be doing today if you had never become a fighter ?
I don’t know what I’d be doing if I wasn’t a fighter, i’d rather not find out either. This is the career I want to have.

lizzy3

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight ?
I’m just back there listening to music, getting ready to go out there and put on a show.

 

Your backstage your music plays what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
Right before I walk out, I listen to the words in my song, think “it’s my time. Lets go.” and then I walk out.

 

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Joanna, I love her speed, her kicks, she’s a beast.

 

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
What’s free time? Joking. Work and training take up most of my time, but if I’m not busy I like to sleep haha.

 

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport ?
When I won my first belt at 16, there aren’t enough words to describe how happy I felt.

 

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
In the next 5 years I’d like to be pro, hopefully employed by the UFC, but you never know what can happen!

 

What are your goals ?
My ultimate goal is to be the #1 fighter in my weight class, I wanna work to be at the top.

 

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
There’s so many people who support me & there aren’t enough words to describe the love & thanks I have for them. My family, both my mothers, my father, all my little siblings, my friends who drive hours to come support me. My coaches James & Kelly. My team mates who help me improve every day. I’ve been blessed to be surrounded by the best.

lizzy4

 

