March 4th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Julian Nguyen
Nickname – Methodical
Weight – 147 pounds
Record – 11 wins 4 loses
Fighting out of Team Link Muay Thai Worcester

Where are you from ?
Worcester, Massachusetts.

How long have you been training ?
7 years in Muay Thai.

How did you get into Muay Thai ?
A friend introduced me to the sport. Fell in love with it ever since.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
My Muay Thai Coach Ibere Reis gave me the nickname “Methodical”. I asked him why, here’s what he had to say:
“From the haircut to the way you fight haha this is why I gave you this nickname. You like and do things in a systematic way from your outfit to your performance in the ring. You’ve programmed everything that you can to keep organized and disciplined and this plays out really well for you as a Muay Thai fighter. You really put it into training, as I show you a new approach or technique you are structured in executing it in your game. Also, in the way you analyze and advance against your opponents in the fight, waiting for the right opportunities and openings is just sharp and methodical!”

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
This has always been a dream of mine since I was a kid.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of Muay Thai?
I’ve had the most incredible support from all my family and friends.

What is your current record ?
11-4-0 (3 KO/TKO)

What is your favorite strike ?
Thai Kick.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
God.

What team do you train with ?
Team Link Muay Thai Worcester.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
To be a fighter is an extraordinary thing. It requires years of hard work, sacrifice and truly takes a different mentality than most people – as fighters we must have the courage, heart and discipline to overcome our own fears, doubts and insecurities. Believing in a dream that no one else sees but ourselves.

What weight do you fight at ?
147lbs.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
Technique.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Connor McGregor!!!

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
They have all been tough.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I’m really calm and focused going in to a fight. I usually keep to myself and am really quiet in the final weeks of preparation.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
As one of the greatest World Muay Thai Champions!

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Take a chance on yourself. Risk disappointment. Have Faith. Dream big. Most of all Believe.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Becoming a 2x World Muay Thai Champion in two different weight classes at the 2015 Unified World Championships in Spain.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My parents – The struggles and obstacles they faced fleeing their own home country of Vietnam, torn apart by war, by boat to the United States to create a better future for our family despite the uncertainty of even surviving has been one of my greatest inspirations. They’ve instilled work-ethic and values that I will carry with me for the rest of my life.
Julie R. – My fiancé witnessed my journey since the beginning and always believed in me more than I had believed in myself. Her relentless love and support in pursuit of my dreams and passion helped me get to where I am today. Love you!
Coach Reis for not only the physical skills and years of experience he’s shared with me but for seeing something in me. He is an amazing coach with the best analytical skills and vision in the fight game. His selflessness, passion and dedication to bringing my dreams to life have molded me into the world champion I’ve become today.
Kru Mark Nardone opened my eyes to a new world. He introduced and taught me the art, history, culture and beauty behind Muay Thai. He is a great ambassador of the sport and inspires me to this day.
Kickboxing Champion Marvin Perry for getting me started and being so hard on me! Training and being around a great Champion at the beginning of my journey has been unforgettable and helped set me up for success.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Right now, Scott Kent and the team at Lion Fight Promotions. They’ve had a huge impact on the growth of Muay Thai here in the U.S. giving opportunities to fighters like myself and around the world giving us the big stage to showcase our skills and talent.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Technical Aggression.

What drives or motivates you ?
My family and friends.

What is something people might not know about you ?
Before I had met Coach Reis, I spent the first few years of my fight career training on my own. I had coaches that I would see maybe once or twice a week if I was lucky (due to distance and work schedule conflicts) and spend every night after work in a tiny boxing room the size of a bedroom at a dungeon gym. There I would practice in front of a small mirror and heavy bag the drills and techniques that I was taught during the week. I prepared this way for my first few fights. After a couple of losses I knew I needed to take things to the next level.
As fate would have it, a random stranger at the gym saw me shadow boxing and asked if I knew who Cosmo Alexandre was??
Of course I knew, Cosmo is one of the greatest Muay Thai Champions in the world today. He was and is one of my favorite fighters of all time. As a young fighter, I would always watch his highlight videos on YouTube and try to emulate his style.
It turned out, out of all places, Cosmo happened to be in my hometown of Worcester, MA training with Coach Reis for his upcoming tournament at the King’s Cup in Thailand! I went and met Coach Reis for the first time and we clicked instantly, I got to meet one of my favorite fighters in Cosmo a few years later and the rest as they say is history.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
I love to travel, be outdoors, spend time with my fiancé, family and friends, eat out, watch movies/fights, read, write, listen to music.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Find a good gym, an experienced, qualified coach and team then work HARD, BELIEVE in yourself and NEVER give up!

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
If I wasn’t fighting, I know I would still be involved in Martial Arts teaching, training and helping others.

What gets you hyped up for a fight ?
The crowd for sure! Seeing my friends and fam and hearing them cheer me on gets my heart pounding. No other feeling like it.

do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
Meditation and Prayer. Giving thanks and appreciation for the opportunity to express myself and do what I love.

Your backstage your music hits whats going through your head as you walk to the ring ?
GO TIME.

Where do you see the sport of Muay Thai in 5-10 years ?
Bigger than the UFC I hope!

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Too many to name but if I had to choose one Sittichai Sitsongpeenong!

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I want to thank all my family and friends for always being there for me! Love you all!

