March 21st 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Michael Guillen
Nickname – Choko
Weight – 130 pounds
Record – 1 win 0 losses
Team – Pete White Boxing And MMA.

Where are you from ?
I was born in New Jersey my mother is Cuban my father is from Uruguay and I grew up in Puerto Rico.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been training for ten years now, I started at the age of 12 but at 17 I quit and came back at 21, I’m 26 now.

How did you get in to boxing ?
How I got into boxing ? That’s a funny story…. so I was in some kind of summer camp in Puerto Rico and next to it there was the boxing gym, now know Charlie that I was the most distracted kid there could be in the world hehehe, I somehow managed to sneak out of the summer camp and walk into the gym, I remember the coach asked me “who are you” and I said “Michael” and he told me everyone had gloves on what was I waiting for, there were like 30 ppl if not more and I got some gloves put on and started training, I remember that same week on my way to the gym after sneaking out of camp I saw all the guys getting in a van, I just got in line and we were on the road, next thing I know we are at an amateur fighting event and as they were doing the match ups they called my weight and I got in like and they match me and I fought hehehe we lost the first fight my old coach said that I had fought with only 3 days of training, after that I stayed and loved it.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
Well I play a lot of video games and the name I picked was “Choko” for when I play video games and everyone in the online gaming calls me Choko so I decided to make my boxer name Choko, I hope some day everyone calls me that lol

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to be a fighter ?
When I fought to qualify for the Jr Olympic team of Puerto Rico, we won and after that was when I said, I love this I don’t want to quit ever, I was 13 when that happened.

Where your family and friends supportive when you decided to become a Boxer ?
My mom was the only one that supported me at the beginning, everyone else would tell me that why do I want to get punch in the face, after I started getting good my family slowly started supporting me but when I say slowly I mean that my aunt didn’t start supporting me till last year, 10 years later lol and I’ve been good for a long time.

What is your current record ?
We’ll in pro we are 1-0 but in amateur I did a little over 150 fights I believe, after so many I stopped counting them lol.

wp-1475625152265.jpg

What is your favorite strike to use in the ring ?
I would say that body shots are my favorite thing to do while in the ring.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
Biggest inspiration well I have a few, to start my daughter, that little girl that’s my world, everything I do is for her, my little brother and 2 sisters also box and they inspire me to become the best boxer out there and be an example, and a few other people like my coach my beautiful girlfriend that supports me to the max and comes to the gym to spend time with me instead of asking me to stay home with her or go out with her but mainly out of all my daughter Mila Rose.

What team do you train with ?
Pete White Boxing And MMA.

Are you more of an offensive or defensive boxer ?
I’m a type of fighter that does both, I like to stand when I can just as much as I like boxing around the ring, I do it the smart way always.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
It’s a life style, being a fighter is what I think about from the moment I wake up till the second I go to bed, I day-dream about it all day.

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at 130, my coming up fight is at 132 and we are talking about going down to 128.

What separates you from other fighters ?
I don’t like to say that I’m the best there is out there and that’s what makes me different but I’m a hard person to fight, I yet haven’t seen someone who moves as much as I do in my division.

If you were given one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
My dream fight, we’ll I would get in the cage with Ronda Rousey, I may last 10 seconds but I will get a hug from her at least hahahaha, but I think all my fights are dream fights I desire every single one of them, I day-dream them, I get exited thinking about them, so yes every fight.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
There was this kid in Puerto Rico, his name was Difrey, every time we fought he won except when we fought in federation tournaments.

Who are you fighting next ?
Next fight is Rafael “Junito” Rivera from Tampa, it will be April 2nd in St Pete.

What weaknesses do you look to exploit in your opponents game plan ?
I’d have to see them first but I can tell you first hand that fighting me is already a big weakness hehehe but most of the time it is my distance, my arm reach, I’m long for my weight class.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
I unfortunately don’t have any sponsorship or promotion but I can tell you that I will always support the city of Edgewater and all of its employees, they are awesome all of them.

Date and time of your next fight ?
Starts at 7pm in St Pete Florida on April 2nd.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I have a good heart, I consider my self an excellent fighter and with a huge heart, I’m the type that helps people in need, I want to be remembered for heart, last year there was a family in my town, a friend from our gym, one of his friends got evicted and lost everything, a mother with 3 kids ended up staying in a hotel room with nothing , no tooth brushes no clothe, just what they had on when evicted, it was around Christmas, I saw the post on fb and msg the family and asked them for clothe sizes, and I told my 1 year old daughter to come with daddy I was going to teach her what a good deed was, I went out and spent a little over $250 in deodorants toothbrushes soap clothes shoes, sockS, underwear, bought as much as I could and me and my daughter took the stuff to them, as I was walking back to
My car I heard the little one say “WOW THIS IS A REAL CHRISTMAS MIRACLE SANTA IS REAL” that right there is what I want to be remembered by, my good deeds.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Our motto at Pete White Boxing is “train hard fight easy”.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport ?
Silver in the junior Olympics, bronze in the Pan American Games.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My mom, she never let me give up and always gave me that push that everyone needs to move forward when most needed.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
I think Felix Tito Trinidad has had the greatest impact ever, he took everyone out with his fast heavy hands that man was unstable.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I like to say that I’m taking these guys to boxing lessons hehehe I say to my coach and we laugh about it so I would say that my boxing style is mmmmm idk how to describe it, something smooth and addictive.

What drives or motivates you ?
My daughter and my family are my biggest motivation my coaches my friends at the gym.

What is something people might not know about you ?
Something ppl may not know about me…. I’m more aggressive than I let on.

When you’re not in the gym how do you like to spend your free time ?
Spend time with my family, I enjoy hiking a lot, going for long drives, love fishing, all out doors activities and as always I have my daughter with me.

What advice can you give to young fighters ?
Stay focused, finish school and remember in the fight game there will be always ups and downs, never give up, you will have people tell you that you are not good, don’t listen to them, it happened to me, they made me cry, they made me feel worthless, but I didn’t give up, and look at me now, I will become a world champion and those that made fun of me will watch me on TV becoming a world champion, always listen to your heart and like I said stay focus. That what I would say to all of these kids.

What do you think you would be doing If you hadn’t become a fighter ?
If I’d had not become a fighter I think I would have ended up in jail or in the cemetery, I had many slips in my life and boxing is what kept me on track and on the good side out of trouble.

What gets you ready for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals ?
I say prayers, I don’t pray for victory but mainly ask our father to protect all of us in the arena and our families, don’t let anyone get injured in a life changing way.

Where do you see yourself in 5-10 years ?
In 5 to 10 years from now I see myself being a world champion and with my own boxing company, throwing events and having my own fighters such as myself.

Who is you favorite fighter ?
Felix Tito Trinidad best of all times.

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
Thank you to all of my family and friends in Puerto Rico my coach my girlfriends family that supports me to the max, my brother that’s in the army, Elliot Gonzalez from Port st Lucie who follows me everywhere and has been there since the beginning, shout out to my beautiful woman that’s always by my side and makes everything possible for me she keeps me on track, all the employees front Perry’s Ocean Edge Resort that are always asking about me and my friends from the Daytona in Seabreeze both hotels in daytona Shores also my bussy Allan Jr and his family , there are so many ppl but we will never finish this interview hehehe shout out to all my fans and last I want a big shout out to all the police department of the city of Edgewater and firefighters and EMT that all do an amazing job in our city, Gary Conroy who’s the councilman of edgewater city and has become a friend and follower.
Make sure you stop by bad hit the like button on Michaels page for all the late breaking news on this fighter
https://m.facebook.com/michael.guillen.boxer/

wp-1475625142695.jpg

