david5

March 22nd 2016

 

Fighter Profile
Name – David Dever
Nickname – 50CAL
Weight – 155 pounds
MMA Record – 10 wins 10 losses
Muay Thai – 11 wins 2 loses
Team – Team Caliber Fighting Systems

 

Where are you from ?
I am from Litchfield Illinois.

How long have you been training ?
11 years Muay Thai and 6 years full MMA training.

How did it all start for you tell us about how you got in to MMA ?
My buddy Christian Pratts family let me stay with them in a tough time in my life, his mom was Viscous Valerie Coolbaugh and his uncle James Marino both pro fighters, promoted a show in Bethalto, IL and asked if I wanted to fight and I jumped at the opportunity to showcase my talent as an athlete lost my first bout but it was a hell of a fight I ended up rocking him bad and looking like a stud got two sponsors Cage Ready and Caged Brigade that night and it took off from there.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
“50cal” was given to me based on my explosive and accurate ability to strike and land lethal blows, it suited me, stuck with me so I rode it.

What was the defining moment for you when you looked at yourself and said I want to be a fighter ?
Well I lost the ability to chase my football dream over a dumb decision that led me to dropping out, and led me to the decision to showcase my talent to be a pro athlete in the combative world.

david2

Where your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of competitive MMA ?
They weren’t thrilled to be honest, because they wanted me to do something less savage with my life but, have remained to tell me not to give up on my dreams, some family were and still are negative but some really positive and my friends have always had my back through it all win or lose didn’t matter I can always rely on them.

What is your current record ?
Amateur MMA 10-10 some unsanctioned are in that record as online shows but it happens to all fighters, Kickboxing 11-2.

What is your favorite strike or submission to utilize in a fight ?
That’s a hard one but probably a combination actually left jab left jab right hook to a spinning backfist, submission is easy my fastest move the Omaplata.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
honestly Cung Le and Matt Hughes I grew up around Matt all my life and Cung Le was always an icon kickboxer to me I’ve wanted to be a good mix of both of them.

What team do you train with ?
I train with team Caliber Fighting Systems out of Benton IL.

Are you more of a stand up style fighter or do prefer to utilize your ground game ?
I like to stand and pick my opponent apart but I’m not afraid of some ground action if necessary.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter to me honestly means that I’m an Elite athlete, I take a lot of pride in my skill and my talents and know that god blessed me with the ability to be a warrior of the modern-day, and it shows to me and others the attitude and the driven focus and discipline I have in myself to train, diet and fight like a champion everyday.

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight in between 155 (lightweight) and 170 (welterweight) depends on opponent.

What separates you from other fighters ?
What sets me apart from the others in my divisions is that im very naturally strong and I have the ability to capitalize on situations others can’t and make it look easy, also my ability to take a viscous beating and be able to come back like I haven’t taken a punch sets me apart from a lot of fighters period.

If you were given one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
A dream fight lol well it would honestly be to fight a rival who got lucky and dodged me at a main event fight on his own promotion Jim Evrley but I would make him come down to my class welcome to my world.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Toughest fight honestly to date would have to be Dustin “BamBam” Parrish for MFS in Indianapolis I took it on 3 hours notice he was ranked #1 in state and it was live on PPV.
All I have to say to myself is this is what it’s all about right here right now, for my pride family friends supporters and sponsors my time to shine bright.

Who are you fighting next ?
Next opponent TBA.

david3

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I wanna be remembered for my heart and the fact that it didn’t matter who were or when I was always ready for war, my superior athletics and strength would be in there also.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport ?
Honestly my biggest accomplishment was making it happen and being able to chase my dream like I am, signing with the best manager I could think of to help me along the way and get some serious talent to notice me and see the fire inside, and to send a message to everyone to never give up and for me to have become a role model.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My biggest influence has honestly been all my trainer and coaches and teammates I’ve had along the way, they all have impacted my success equally.

Who do you think has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Honestly it would have to be the entire UFC organization because every one of them are the reason MMA and combat sports really came alive as popular as it is today.

How would you describe our fighting style ?
My fighting style is very fast paced and aggressive, a lot of brute strength and power mixed with intense speed and cardio.

What drives or motivates you ?
What drives me is to be a role model to kids and adults both, and ignite their flame inside, and my family is my number one I want to leave a strong legacy for them to follow.

What is something people don’t know about you ?
People don’t know honestly the struggle and how I’ve fought to be able to chase the dream and honestly few will, but a good one is I was adopted and raised by a different family due to unfit parents.

When you’re not training what do you like to do for fun ?
I love guns and survival techniques and practicing with air soft guns and survival equipment.

What advice can you give to young fighters ?
Advice to any upcoming athlete, keep your head on straight, look at the goal and all the good you do and learn from your losses,everyone loses its how your able to come back that shows and defines who you are as a fighter.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
Honestly what pumps me up for the battle is the stare into my opponents eyes and almost tasting their fear and anxiousness. Dialed in locked and loaded, my opponent is only myself.

Where do you see yourself in 5-10 years ?
5-10 years I dream of being the World Series Of Fighting Lightweight Champion UFC is honestly too much hype I am there to show my talent not for a publicity stunt.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Favorite fighter by far is Georges Saint Pierre what can I say dude has it all man and he’s shown he’s the best with nothing left to prove.

Is there anyone you would like to thank ?
Shout outs go out to my Manager Ken Droneburg, Kens Pro Management for being a major part of my life and success my fiance and mother of my children Courtney Utlaut, my children Kayden Stone he’s my little prodigy and Ares Dever my boy my pride and joy and my unborn princess on the way Mia Dever daddy loves all of you and ill make you proud all my fans sponsors and supporters I love all yall and your why I stay on fire day in day out.

To stay up to date with all the late breaking news from David Click the link below and go check out his fan page
https://www.facebook.com/50calbeowulf/

david4

