This slideshow requires JavaScript.

March 26th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Nakota Hawley
Nickname – The Beast
Weight – 155 pounds
Team – Gracie Jiu Jitsu Pontiac

Where are you from ?
Michigan.

How long have you been training ?
Ten years started Tae Kwon Do at four!!

How did you get in to MMA ?
I loved when in my Tae Kwon Do class my GrandMaster incorporated BJJ and striking geared towards MMA into the curriculum and started doing tournaments and was hooked!!

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
I have a lot of great people all over the World that support me endlessly and a girl from Brazil said it once and it stuck!!

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
First fight I saw Lyoto Machida in using his karate I knew wanted to include MMA fighting into my future with the way I loved my martial arts classes!!

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
My mom is a bigger fan than me lol so she was slightly thrilled, and she supports me endlessly. She drives me two hours multiple times a week for training.

What is your current record ?
I have not done any kickboxing or MMA fights yet what I am training for but I am undefeated in Judo tournaments and Bjj been competing many years and have all firsts with one second place.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
Rear naked choke.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My coach and Lyoto Machida.

What team do you train with ?
I train out of Gracie Jiu Jitsu Pontiac for Bjj and I have an MMA coach works with me privately for Muay Thai Kickboxing. I received my black belt from Seung Ni Martial Arts under Grandmaster Gary Hausbeck!!

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I am very comfortable on the ground with over seven years Bjj, but my striking is coming along and I am not afraid to stand and fight.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Martial Arts is a way of life for me, and being a fighter gives me focus dedication and the true meaning of hardwork ethic to help in all of my life.

What weight do you fight at ?
155 pounds.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I can take hits and stay focused, and I stay calm on the ground not getting frustrated and let my training guide me.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I want to fight Jon Jones for beating Machida lol!!

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
At Naga I had to go against two 17 years olds at 12 because there was no one in my weight bracket and I beat them both by submission!! Was tough as they were both great wrestlers.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I am very focused on doing my best and with the awesome coaches I have I feel I will be prepared to do my best each time.

Who are you fighting next ?
I am not sure but the goal for this summer is having a fight my last opponent pulled out!!

What do you think you can work on to become a better more well-rounded fighter ?
I am stronger on the ground now, but I am working very hard on getting my standup better and better. My footwork is my weakness right now.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
No particular one right now!

Date and time of your next fight ?
TBD

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
That I was respectful in win or loss and that I never get beaten because I was not prepared.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
You either Win or Learn!!

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Receiving my Black Belt, and training with Royce Gracie!!

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Lyoto Machida

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Bruce Lee for Martial Arts is my hero for sure!!

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Well Rounded

What drives or motivates you ?
My mom my coach and my love and enjoyment for the sport !!

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
Watch movies, run, and hangout with my sparring partners.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Do not stop when it gets hard that means it is worth it more!!

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I want to be an engineer still and I keep my grades up to pursue both.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I put my headphones on and sit in a quiet spot before a tournament and I never ever focus on whom my opponent is just let my training guide me!!

Where do you see the sport of mma in 5-10 years ?
I think we are going to keep seeing the athletes more and more well-rounded in all aspects of Martial Arts like no more just Bjj or striking but knowing and needing to be good at all angles.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Lyoto Machida

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
My Mom, Eliminate Brand and Ty Pham, Add More Brand, and my awesome coaches Don Cook and Kole Pepa. I also would love to thank Bryce Fishinghawk from Future Fighterz!!

