carlos1

March 29th 2016

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Carlos Correia
Nickname – Disco
Weight – 170 pounds
Record – 3 wins 1 loss
Team – DCNU

 

Where are you from ?
I live in Naugatuck Connecticut But im from Caracas Venezuela.

How long have you been training ?
I started training the day after I turned 18 years old I am 27 I’ll be 28 in October.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I always wanted to fight, but my mom refused to sign me up when I lived in Georgia most kids would get home from school and play basketball we would get home from school and fight each other not for anything else other than we all love to fight it would be like a sparring session no hard feelings.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
Disco
A long long time ago when I first started training my old coach and teammates used to call me Disco because the way I sparred look like I was dancing in the ring, I had slicked-back hair and used to wear tight pants so he said you always look like you’re going to the Disco and it kind of stuck around.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
I volunteered to fight at a smoker just to help raise money for the cause and I had only been doing Muay Thai for a couple of months and I got my butt kicked I knew I couldn’t go out like that on a lost.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
My family is very supportive of anything I want to do but fighting is one of those things that only a few people we’re supportive at first but after they realized I was pretty decent at it they like to come watch except my mom she still can’t watch me fight.

What is your current record ?
Currently 3 – 1 amateur making my professional debut this April 9th.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
Everybody loves a good old head kick.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My dad, he was a very successful business owner in Venezuela and he dropped everything came to America to work construction to give me and my sister a better future and is the hardest working person I know.

What team do you train with ?
Team DCNU
Danilo Cherman Nova Uniao.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I’m comfortable wherever the fight goes.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter to me means the ultimate form to test yourself physically and mentally vs another man who’s locked in a cage with you trying to hurt you.

carlos3

What weight do you fight at ?
Welterweight 170 pounds.

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I think the biggest difference between me and other Fighters in my division is I can match anyone’s skill but nobody could match my heart.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I would love to test myself against the best in the world including number one welterweight Robbie Lawler but before I get there there’s a few Pros on the local scene that have been on my radar for a while stay tuned after my fight April 9th I’ll make sure they know I’m coming for them.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
my coaches have really done a good job in preparing me for the Pro level so when you look at my record not a single guy I’m there is a slouch.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
WAR fight until the fight is won!

Who are you fighting next ?
Alex Dolan.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in his game that you can exploit ?
He’s fought some tough opponents, but he’s never faced anybody like me.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Cage Titans Fighting Championships.

Date and time of your next fight ?
April 9th.

carlos2

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I come in Ready for War win or lose you will never say man Carlos gave up…

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
WAR.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Receiving my purple belt in BJJ.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My coach Rob Cipriano, I’ve been training with him since the day I first stepped foot in the gym.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
I think GSP has been the most influential fighter in MMA in my opinion he was the first true martial artists not just a fighter.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I’m calm until I see an opening then i flick the switch and go for the kill.

What drives or motivates you ?
My family and my team.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I hate to fight outside of a fight or training.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
Spend time with my dogs go fishing spend time with my family.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Find yourself a good team and good coaches and don’t let your opponent train harder than you.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I am a dog trainer and I really love what I do but wow never thought about life without martial arts.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I’m really superstitious there’s a lot of things I like to do right before I step in the cage, but what gets me really hyped up is that first step into the cage , the war has started.

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5-10 years ?
it’s hard to tell everybody on the high-level is good at everything there’s really no such thing as a striker or ground guy anymore.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
GSP.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
First and foremost I want to say thanks to Future Mrs. Correia (getting married may 21st 2016) she does so much for me helping me prepare for a fight, and she’s always supportive of me no matter what crazy idea i may have, my family and my DCNU family i could not have done this without all of you, also thanks to cage titans for the opportunity, i made my amateur debut for them and I’m also making my professional debut for them great promotion for the local talent in the Northeast!

carlos4

