March 30th 2016

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Alexa saverem
Nickname – Bambi
Weight – 115 pounds
Team – Highlander MMA

 

Where are you from ?
Tampa Florida.

How long have you been training ?
1 year.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I got into MMA cause I saw it on tv and thought that it would be fun.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
Bambi is actually my middle name but my coach Liked it so everyone calls me that now ?

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
Not really sure, I had been around pro and Ammy fighters both male and female. One day you are like I can do this! then one day your like what am I doing here ? ha ha.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
My family was a little discouraging in the beginning. At least they never stopped me from doing it. I guess I should count my blessings.

What is your current record ?
My first fight was a kickboxing match in the cage We wanted an MMA bout but they wanted stand up only.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
Rear Naked Choke.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My mom.

What team do you train with ?
Highlander MMA with Professor Mike Yanez In Tampa Florida. I’ve trained at different schools with trainers of all kinds. Coach Mike has been very patient with me and is a great fit for me.

wp-1475424562848.jpg

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I like to stand , but my coach is for sure changing my mind on that ha ha.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
It’s the one thing I feel I have complete control of in life.

What weight do you fight at ?
115 pound weight class is the target.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I’m really not sure yet , I think that will come with time.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I just want to get better way better one fight at a time.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Only had the one kickboxing It was nothing I thought.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I just don’t want to let my team down I don’t want to let everyone who supported me down.

Who are you fighting next ?
I have two fights set up in the next 8 weeks I don’t know much about my opponent yet my coach handles that.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in their game ?
I will get with my coach and get a game plan together.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Think both are in south Florida.Don’t know yet

Date and time of your next fight ?
Don’t know yet.

wp-1475424615561.jpg

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
That I never backed down from a challenge and I was confident. Also that I was a good role model.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Coach Mike Yanez for sure! He has taught me so much not only about fighting but about the fight Business. There’s so much more to it if you want to make a living out of it.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Conor McGregor love him or hate him he’s brought everything to another level.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
They say I’m aggressive I don’t know ha ha.

What drives or motivates you ?
I just don’t want to mess up. It’s important to succeed but I just don’t want to fail.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Life has changed for me so much since I started training , it’s hard to think about what it was before.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I just dream of food that I can eat and I can’t wait till weigh ins are over.

your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
It’s so surreal and it’s all over so quickly it’s hard to grasp the feeling or describe it.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Cyborg.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
Sleep and eat and eat more I’m a fat kid.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Showing up to class everyday.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
Like any woman in an all male sport. Just always trying to get respect from people.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Find a good coach that has experience training other accomplished female fighters.

Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
Not sure.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
Fighting professional maybe for Invicta Fighting Championships.

What are your goals within the sport ?
To win.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Yes my parents for support.
My team Highlander MMA for pushing me.
Coach Mike Yanez for putting up with me and motivating me to be the best I can be.

wp-1475424583928.jpg

