This slideshow requires JavaScript.

April 18th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Mike Gresh
Nickname – Loco Lobo
Weight – 145 pounds
Record – 4 wins 2 losses
Team – Team Juniko / Sityodtong Boston

Where are you from ?
I was born in Brockton Mass and moved to Cape Cod at 10 yrs old.

How long have you been training ?
I started training in the traditional arts in 1975 and around 93 got interested in MMA.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
The Brazilians gave me my nick name many years Ago.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew this was what you wanted to do ?
I competed in Karate tourneys in the 70s and 80s when there where less rules ..pretty much full contact.

How did you get in to MMA ?
At 44 years old I tested myself in my 1st MMA fight which I lost I then went on to fight 5 more times and win a New England 145 pound championship.

Where your family and friends supportive of your decision to step in the cage ?
My mom was supportive and some friends not so.

What team do you train with ?
I coach and train out of Team Juniko and Sityodtong Boston .

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
I don’t compete anymore but my best punch is my left hook , best kick is low Thai kick favorite¬†submission Triangle and hammer lock.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration would be Daniel Gracie..Kru Mark Dellagrotte and Juliano Coutinho.

Who was your toughest fight ?
I fought when they didn’t have a commission ..I fought an opponent 20 lbs heavier than me and my toughest fight was Josh Laberge ..I was 47 yrs old he was 27 and ranked in the top 3 in the Northeast.

What knowledge do you try to impart on your fighters as a trainer and coach ?
I teach my fighters to be aggressive and calculating ..I study opponents and we train accordingly.

What drives and motivates you ?
I love to win and what drives me are my students doing their best.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
I have two quotes …Cardio is king and train like u fight ..fight like u train.

What got you hyped up for a fight ?
I didn’t need any hyping when I fought ..I love to fight .
I have been fighting since I was a child.

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5-10 years ?
The sport of MMA is constantly evolving and I see teams in different parts of the world dominating the sport ..Juniko and SYT will be the best soon all over the world …plan is in motion.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Shout out to all the pioneers in the last 25 years.

