April 19th 2016
Fighter Profile
Name – DJ Miller
Nickname – Sidthilaw
Weight – 155 pounds
Record – 2 wins 0 losses
Team – Sidthilaw Muay Thai and MMA
Where are you from ?
Nashville TN.

How long have you been training ?
Nearly 10 years.

How did you get in to Muay Thai ?
I got into Muay Thai by watching the movie The Protector.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
My nickname is Sidthilaw, it comes from my gym’s name Sidthilaw Muay Thai and MMA, in Thailand it is tradition for the fighter to adopt the gym’s name as his/her last name.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
After training for a year and being offered my first fight to put my skills to the test.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of Muay Thai?
yes, some of them even pictured me going that route.

What is your current record ?
2-0.

What is your favorite strike ?
My favorite strike is the straight knee.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration is Yodsaenklai Fairtex.

What team do you train with ?
Sidthilaw Muay Thai and MMA.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter means to be a symbol of inspiration and motivation to others.

What weight do you fight at ?
70kg-155lbs.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
My style is what separates me, I have an overpowering pressure style that makes people crumble.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Yodsaenklai Fairtex.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
My toughest fight has been against Damir Ferhatbegovic, which was also my last amateur fight.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Have fun entertain and be myself.

Who are you fighting next ?
Antonio Malloy.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in his game that you can exploit ?
His weakness is that he is fighting someone like me, I am everyone’s weakness.

What promotion are you fighting ?
Valor Fights.

Date and time of your next fight ?
June 4th.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
One of the greatest American Nak Muays.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Your soul is mine.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Winning nearly every national tournament as an amateur.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My coach Chris Beasley.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Buakaw Banchamek, at a point in his career he got into legal trouble that could have caused his retirement, he pushed through and built his own gym from the ground up and still competes to this day.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Lethal, effective, conquering, overwhelming.

What drives or motivates you ?
People that doubt me.

wp-1476017783677.jpg

What is something people might not know about you ?
I’m a huge Backstreet Boys fan.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
On Saturdays, my only rest day watch TV, cook, and play video games.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Keep practicing no matter what, training is more than just working out, it can be used as therapy.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
being an average day-to-day person.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
visualization of how I will perform.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Yodsaenklai Fairtex.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
All of my teammates, old and new that stuck with me through thick and thin, without them none of this would be possible.

wp-1476017776702.jpg

