hannah3

April 20th 2016

 
Fighter Profile
Name – Hannah Lavely
Nickname – No Fear
Weight – 135 pounds
Record – 1 win 0 losses 1 draw
Team – Academy of Courage

 
Where are you from ?
Ofallon, Missouri

How long have you been training ?
About three years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
Growing up I tried getting into typical sports such as cheerleading, dancing or softball and I never really got into any of them. I decided I wanted to do something no other girl my age does so I signed up to try a boxing class and immediately I fell in love with the sport.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
My nickname is Hannah “no fear” Lavely. Leading up to my first fight my friend was talking about how proud she was of me and she made the comment that I had no fear. I really liked that and decided to keep it.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
I knew I wanted to be a fighter when I first stepped foot into the cage at age 14 to spar my coach. I wasn’t very good at all, but that’s what I loved about it: that there’s always room for new challenges. After I got done sparring, I was addicted. I wanted to see where my limits would take me.

 

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
My parents were a little nervous at first but they’re my biggest support group now. I’m so blessed to have such outstanding parents and brothers to stand by my side through my journey.

What is your current record ?
1-0-1

What is your favorite strike, submission, or combination t use in a fight ?
My favorite strike would be a left hook.

hannah4

 

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration would be my parents. They’re such hard working individuals and they keep pushing through everything life throws at them. They’re strong people and I think that’s where I get my drive to fight.

What team do you train with ?
Academy of Courage!

 

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
As of right now, I can’t take it to the ground so I’d have to go with standing. Although I’m very excited to see the outcome of my first MMA match.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter to me is, always always always challenging yourself. The sport is difficult but to be a fighter you have to learn how to push through the difficulties to be the best you can be. You must be very disciplined and focused to reach your goals.

What weight do you fight at ?
135 pounds.

What do you think separates you from other fighters ?
My dedication, hard work and focus. I have goals, and I will do whatever it takes to reach them. Most other kids my age don’t want to sacrifice much to get where they want to be, but I do.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
Holly Holm. I would not want to fight her right now but I love her fighting style, it’s similar to mine. And it’d just be awesome to say Holly Holm punched me in the face.

 

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
I’ve only fought one person.

hannah2

 

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I will win, I will give it my all, the pain is only temporary, you can do it Hannah, do not back down, I refuse to lose.

Who are you fighting next ?
I do not have a scheduled fight as of right now, but I hope to be back soon!

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
A very respectable person and an outstanding person. I want people to recognize how much passion I have for the sport.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
I can’t choose just one person, all of my teammates are my role models. They’re great

 

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Striker. I throw a lot of punches, all at different levels and in different ways.

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
What motivates me is winning. Every time I’m training and want to give up, I think about winning and I bounce right back.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I would probably just be really lazy and honestly I wouldn’t be as happy as a person.

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
I don’t really have any rituals, I like being alone leading up to the fight though. I don’t really like talking to anyone. I like putting myself in the zone and focusing on the win. I’m very isolated before battle.

hannah1

 

Your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
I will make her pay for every time I felt like giving up during training. I will win, I will win, I will win.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
I enjoy Holly Holm a lot, I like Conor McGregor, too.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
Study or sleep.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Most definitely my first win, at Prime against Abby Willing.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
The biggest challenge for me personally in the sport is finding opponents. I’m 16 years old and not very many girls my age in this area fight.

hannah7

 

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
If you want something, go and get it. Don’t let anyone or anything get in the way of your dreams or goals. It’s your life and you choose your future. Work hard and don’t let fear hold you back.

Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
I see it expanding tremendously. A lot of young girls are starting to step foot into the sport and I think that’s awesome.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
I would love to be pro by then, if not pro have a few MMA wins under my belt.

What are your goals within the sport ?
To become a professional.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Kevin Engel, he was the person who taught me the basics from the very beginning. He was there for my first fight, my first pair of boxing gloves, for everything. Kain and Michelle Royer, for being my coaches now and for teaching me how to improve myself as a fighter and for pushing me to my limits. My teammates and family, they’re so supportive and I couldn’t ask for a better support system.

hannah6

