This slideshow requires JavaScript.

April 21st 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Morigan Keirnan
Nickname – Black Widow
Weight – 86 pounds
Team – Royce Gracie Academy Of Michigan

Where are you from ?
I currently live in Milan Michigan and Wrestle for Dundee Michigan.

How long have you been training ?
3 years.

How did you get in to wrestling / MMA ?
One day my dad was watching a girl’s MMA fight in the living room on his computer. It was Miesha Tate in a fight in Strikeforce. I learned over his shoulder and wanted to know what it was about. He told me Miesha Tate was a wrestler and now she was a fighter. A few days later I came home with the flier for the local youth wrestling club.

Tell us about your nickname and how you became the Black Widow ?
I used to wear all pink stuff for boxing and wrestling and decided one day I didn’t want to be cute anymore. That’s when I decided I wanted to be the “Black Widow”. I have always liked spiders and the Black Widow is creepy.

What was the Defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to be a fighter ?
There is something different about girls who do these sports. When I went to wrestling and boxing the girl’s take care of each other. It’s not like Soccer or team sports where the girls tend to form cliques to be mean to each other. I fit in with people who fight in ways I don’t fit in anywhere else.

How did your friends and family react to you wanting to get in to Wrestling where they supportive ?
My dad was supportive of anything I wanted to do. When it was Soccer he took me to extra classes and whatever I needed to get better even though we are actually kind of poor. When it switched to wrestling and wanting to be a fighter it was the same thing. He spends most of his extra money on my brother and me for Wrestling and Boxing and BJJ. As far as my friends, I made far more friends because of fighting then I ever had before.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
My favorite strike is my straight right or overhand right in boxing. My favorite submission is the rear-naked Choke, or the Suffocater from Catch Wrestling.

Who has been your biggest inspiration ?
Boxing: Muhammad Ali, James Toney, Laila Ali
MMA: Joanna Jedrzejczyk, Georges St. Pierre
Wrestling: Wade Schalles, Helen Maroulis.

What weight do you wrestle at ?
I usually wrestle or box at 86 lbs.

What separates you from other wrestlers ?
In wrestling I am a “funk” wrestler and a strategic wrestler. I like to set traps for my opponents and I use moves most people are not ready for like the Spladle or Banana split. In Boxing I fight more traditional but I like to analyze my opponents.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
I like to read, and I read George’s St. Pierre’s book “The Way of the Fight”. I have watched a lot of interviews with Muhammad Ali and I have a lot of his quotes on my bedroom walls.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
I listed them in inspirations, but Joanna is my overall favorite.
When you’re not training what do you like to do in your free time ?
I like to read. I read Harry Potter a lot.

What advice can you give to other young female fighters ?
Don’t give up. There are always tough times right before something is about to get better.

What goes through your mind as you are getting ready for a competition ?
There was a video with Mike Tyson talking about what he would say to himself on his way to the ring. Sometimes I remember that. If I am at a tournament I usually watch all of my opponent’s matches and get an idea for what I plan to do to them.

What has been your biggest accomplishment ?
I am a 2x youth wrestling All-American… I pinned the Ohio State champion and the Wisconsin State Champion.
Where do you see women’s wrestling in the next 5-10 years
I hope girl’s MMA continues to grow. I would like to see more weight classes in the UFC And girl’s boxing. I hope girl’s wrestling continues to grow as well.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
(In the next 5 years… goals). I want to win the NuWay Nationals, and the USA Freestyle Central Regional’s, and the nationals if we can ever get the money to get me there. In Boxing I want to win a gold medal in the Junior Olympics. I am still getting into BJJ but I want to do well there as well.

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
I would like to thank my Folk style Wrestling team the Dundee Vikings. My Freestyle Wrestling team, Betts’ Army. My Boxing .team A-Square, and Royce Gracie Academy of Michigan where I study BJJ and MMA. And my father and brother

Make sure you follow the Black Widow by clicking the link below and liking her fan page https://www.facebook.com/morigantheblackwidowkiernan/…

Check out Morigan “The Black Widow” Kiernan on YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0B5rgiWcxBU&feature=youtu.be

Click this link to help support 10-year-old Morigan by donating to her fundraiser https://fundrazr.com/getwidowtoregionals?ref=ab_43cevb

