This slideshow requires JavaScript.

April 22nd

Fighter Profile
Name – Erin Kowal
Weight – 47 kilos (103 pounds)
Record – 16 wins 4 losses
Team – Griphouse Gym

Where are you from ?
l I come from a small town in central Scotland, called Falkirk.

How long have you been training ?
I started training in 2011. I had never heard of Muay Thai, I went along with my dad initially.

How did you get in to Muay Thai ?
First year or two i only trained once or twice a week. I fell in love with the sport and have been training constantly 4/5 times a week since.
My family and I moved into a new town. As the new kids under town, my twin sister and I were bullied. My dad gave me the option of karate or Muay Thai to try toughen myself up.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
To be honest I don’t really have a nickname that sticks. One of my old coaches , Jordan Coe, used to call me the pink warrior purely just because all my original training equipment was pink πŸ˜‚.

What was the defining moment for you when you said this is what i want to do ?
I loved the sport from day one to be honest. I let my coaches decide what was best for me.
However when I won my first British Championship and received my first belt, I knew this was for me and I wanted more.

When you decided to compete in Muay Thai where your family and friends supportive of your decision ?
Yeh for sure. I can’t thank my parents and both sets of grand parents who often sacrifice things for themselves to make sure I get to training and travel with me constantly to fights.

What is your current record ?
My fight record is still relatively small. I’ve only had 20 fights.
I’m currently 16 wins 4 losses.
However I lost two of my first four fights and learned from there.
In that time I’ve won 2 Scottish, 1 northern British, 2 full British, 1 European Championship and a world gold medalist.

What is your favorite strike ?
I don’t have a signature move as such. I just try to be the best I can in all areas. Every day you learn something new.

Who has been your biggest inspiration ?
I have many fighters I look up to, in particular my ex coach Jordan Coe. He’s only 20 and is now fighting for a career in Thailand. I would love to do that. That’s what I inspire to.
Also love watching Imo Barlow and Jo Jo Calderwood

What team do you train with ?
I started of training with Carnage Muay Thai in my home town under Jordan Coe and Colin Anderson.
However Carnage unfortunately shut it’s doors.
I now travel four or five times a week to Griphouse gym in Glasgow who welcomed me from day 1.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
It means a lot. Makes me feel better within myself and more confident. I love being part of the Griphouse gang and the buzz from training.

What weight do you fight at ?
Last year I fought at 42/44 kilos but after a growth spurt I’m currently fighting at 47/49 kilo.

What separates you from other fighters ?
I’m a bit taller than most of my opponents so I try to use that to my advantage to the best of my abilities.

If you were given one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
Lol I don’t know about a dream fight. I just take every training session as it comes.

Who has been your toughest opponent to date ?
Two spring to mind. Ellie Barker who I have fought twice, both going the distance. Fortunately I won on points in both bouts.
The other was my last defeat, Marie Day. Although we have a rematch in July where I can hopefully even the scores.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
It’s a mixture of things. There is always some nerves but I also try to be confident. Most of the time I just want to get in and fight.

Who are you fighting next ?
My next fight is Against Shannon Hands she is ranked number 2 in the Uk and this will be for the WTKA 48kg Muay Thai Title.

What holes or weaknesses do you see in your opponents that you try to exploit ?
I wouldn’t want to disrespect any my future opponents by saying they have weaknesses.
I’m happy within myself if I know have trained to the best of my abilities.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
I am currently sponsored by Granite Fight Factory who supply me with my equipment at the moment. Sunny Coelst from Ultim8 also sends my equipment too.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I would like to be remembered as a good fighter who gave their all. Anything else is a bonus.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
I have three coaches who I owe everything too.
My two ex coaches from Carnage Muay Thai, Jordan Coe and Colin Anderson and currently Keith Mclachlan from Griphouse. All three are amazing.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
For me personally the two people who have the biggest influence in Muay Thai are two of my coaches.
Jordan Coe moved over to Thailand aged 17 to fight their full time. He left all his family and friends to live his dream and is doing brilliantly.
My current coach Keith Mclachlan is also amazing. He holds so many titles I can’t even remember them all.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
My fighting style is more of a Thai style I’d say. I’m not really a boxer so to speak.

What drives and motivates you ?
Motivation is easy. I want to be the best I can. Not sure where this journey will take me but I aim to be the best I can.

tell the fans one fact they might not know about you
People might not know that I’m a girly girl.
I love my clothes , I love doing my hair but that all changes when I step inside the gym.

If you had not become fighter what do you think you would be doing right now ?
I’m still at high school so if I wasn’t a Muay Thai fighter, I’d probably be in one of the school teams. I love swimming.

Do you have any prefight rituals that get you ready to step in the ring ?
My pre fight is pretty much the same. Warm up, stay concentrated and focus.
I am a bit superstitious and have lucky shorts πŸ˜‰

Who are your favorite fighters ?
Again my two coaches feature, Jordan Coe and Keith Mclachlan are two fighters I love watching.
Imo Barlow and Jo Jo Calderwood are two others I love.
Dakota Ditcheva isn’t much older than me and she is awesome.

What do you like to do in your free time ?
When not training I love going shopping for clothes.
The family also has two huskies and I love taking them on walks.

When your backstage and you hear your music play what goes through your head as you walk to the ring ?
When my background music starts blaring, it brings a smile to my face. I know it’s time to get out and do my stuff.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport ?
My biggest accomplishment so far is just getting in the ring.
When I started training i never thought I’d ever get to a fighting standard it was more a pastime. To be asked to represent my gym was a huge accomplishment.

What do you think the challenges are for women in Muay Thai ?
I’m not really sure the difficulties facing women in Muay Thai.
I just go where my coaches tell me and try my best. My coach Keith does all the hard bits

What advice can you give to other young fighters ?
My advice to any younger fighters is simply always follow your dreams, take everything in your stride and give everything 100 percent.

Where do you see women’s Muay Thai in 5-10 years ?
I see women’s Muay Thai in 5 years as taking huge steps. It’s growing all the time.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
Personally in 5 years my aim is to be fighting in Thailand full-time.

What are your goals within the sport ?
My goals in the sport is to travel the world, showcase my skills on the big stages.
Hopefully I can make a name for myself in the adult world like I have in the junior one.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I wouldn’t be anywhere without the help of my parents. They take me to training , shows, wherever I get matched. They spend a lot of their free time helping me.
My coaches again, I wouldn’t be anywhere without them.
Of course my sponsors at Granite Fight Factory for giving me the best equipment to pursue my dreams.
Every person that I’ve ever trained with, encouraged me, gave me advice and to the people who help me fund raise for trips abroad, I’d be nothing without them.
I’m grateful to everyone that’s helped me on my journey.

