May 2nd 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Jack Grady
Nickname – Shady
Record – 0 wins 3 losses 1 draw
Weight – 135 pounds
Team – Impact Boxing Fitness

Where are you from ?
Buffalo NY.

How long have you been training ?
I have been boxing since 2005, in the amateurs, pro since 2014.

How did you get in to boxing ?
My father passed away in 2000, when I was young…years later I found boxing and marathon running as a great escape/outlet.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
My aunt Jackie who passed away a few years ago was called shady Grady, I picked it up. No one ever knows what I’m up to, my style is awkward and crazy, and it’s hard to figure me out. Shady!

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?When my father passed away from brain cancer. I’m a professional now because of him, he was in Vietnam vet a buffalo NY firefighter, a very hard worker; now I continue boxing for my kids who are 1 and 2 years old.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of boxing ? My mother doesn’t like that I box, but understands why I do. A lot of my family members I’ve lost because they were non-believers. It seems like the fans who I meet are more supportive now than most of my family. The hate and the love both keep me going.

What is your current record ?
9-11 as an amateur; 0-3-1 as a professional.

What is your favorite strike ?
When all else fails I rely on the jab. I have a mean left hook. I like the overhand right and uppercut as well.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My father Patrick, and my kids Scarlett and Jackson

What team do you train with ?
I train at a lot of different places, impact boxing fitness is a great quiet gym where I can hit the bags and focus.

Do you like to box, slug, brawl, or dance with your opponent ?
I know I fast, I definitely rely on my footwork, but I often mix it up and like to make it a “dog fight”, I dont mind brawling, Nd getting wild, but I always try to keep my composure.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
It means everything. Its a lifestyle. I wake up and train. I love getting paid to do what I love.

What weight do you fight at ?
135-140lbs

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I have the will, skill, and heart. I am a risk taker. I never let anyone tell me I can’t do something. I believe I have a God given gift.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I’d love to fight the great Floyd mayweather or Manny pacquiao.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Every fight is different, John hernandez and I fought twice, in 2014 and 2015 on the undercard of Danny Jacobs vs Peter quillin, he’s a tricky fighter, its always a close fight between John and I.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Just throwing down and fighting I usually have a clear head where I just simply go in and fight. Leading up to the fight of course I think about my father, my children, my family, and all the hard work I have done to be on the big stage.

Who are you fighting next ?
There is no set date or contract signed, but I stay ready 24/7, as soon as possible.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in there game that you can exploit ?
I am good at measuring distance, and switching from southpaw to orthodox, being a tricky awkward fighter, most fighters defense falls and I’m able to capitalize on their mistakes.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
None at the moment. I’ve fought for kings boxing promotions, dibella-star boxing, and ShowTime.

Date and time of your next fight ?
No date set.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
That I would fight anyone. How tuff I am, how I gave everything up to be a professional. And one day be know as a champion.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Two quotes I love are…”for every dark night, there is a bright day.” And “tough times don’t last, tough people do.”

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Fighting John Hernandez a second time on ShowTime Dec. 5th 2015, on the Jacobs v qullin undercard, even though I lost a decision, fighting at the Barclays center was an amazing experience.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My father, my kids and my fans. The other boxers who I train with as well, there are a ton of influential individuals throughout my career thus far.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Muhammad Ali without a doubt. Secondly, I would have to say Floyd mayweather, his legacy will also go down as being one of the greatest ever.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Wild. Awkward, entertaining.

What drives or motivates you ?
Again, I have to say my kids, and my father, who I know is watching over me. Without God none of this would be possible.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I’m a lot like everyone else, my father was a firefighter, my mother is a nurse. I’m a single father too. I dont have a lot of money, and I do struggle, I do get emotional…but I always stay positive. I know my future looks bright.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
I enjoy being with some friends, I like to listen to music, go for hikes in the woods, go for random car rides, spend time with my kids, I try to watch my diet too, but I love to eat when I’m not trying to make weight.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Never settle for less. Never let anyone tell you that you can’t do something. Your dreams are the most important thing you have. Keep a positive mind set and one day you can become a professional too. Train hard, and let God take care of the rest.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Its important to have more than one dream or a back up plan. I received my bachelors degree in human services from Hilbert college. I enjoy helping people, social work or something along those lines.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I usually just chill and listen to rap, hip hop music and eat good food, I hype myself up in my own mind, I try to unleash the hell when its time to fight.

Where do you see the sport of boxing in 5-10 years ?
Boxing in 5-10 years will be thriving. I see myself on tv often and fighting for awhile.
I see my name with the greats. I see the sport continuing to grow.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
There are a few. I’ve always enjoyed the Irish man John duddy “the derry destroyer”. Floyd mayweather is great. And of course myself. Jack “Shady” Grady!

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I would like to thank Mr. Charlie Clark for the interview. I would like to thank all my fans, and all of my haters for keeping me focused. I would like to thank my father who passed away for instilling such a hard work ethic in me. Without God nothing is possible.

