This slideshow requires JavaScript.

May 4th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Tony Hervey
Nickname – Lionheart
Weight – 155 pounds
Record – 19 wins 18 losses
Team – Stealth Squad

Where are you from ?
Detroit, MI.

How long have you been training ?
20+ years in various forms of martial arts. I have been recognized by the World College of Martial Arts as Grandmaster of my art called Fudoshin Taijutsu.

How did you get in to MMA ?
When I was 17, I worked at Powerhouse gym,
there was a team who started training at the gym.
After 2 weeks of observing. I asked them if they wanted a light weight.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
I am Lionheart, aka The Red-head Cherry Bomb aka Razswift. If you never seen me on the dance-floor, I’m the type to show out, Bboy!
In the fight game, I fought so often. I got my name Lionheart in Des Moine Iowa fighting in a tournament to fight on a big promotion called “ICON”. Which was the most bloodiest fight I have ever been in and where I was pushed to a limit that I refused to go down or quit. That day I chose to fight to my last breath or die trying! At the end of that fight, out in the crowd a man shouted out to me and said, “Got-damnn, LIONHEART”…The whole arena raved at the name and joined in and from that point on…I knew I was in this to win it!

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
The moment I won my first Championship title…Lol I was fighting Victor Valenzuela. I didnt’ see anything but that man. There was no question, I wanted to beat him up. I fought him with fury and at the end of that fight, I got my crown. Then had dinner with Dan Henderson. Freakin’ sweeeet!

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
I began with no family…I have humble beginnings, but now I have a family that I built like a kingdom.

What is your current record ?
I hold 4 Championship World Titles, with 65 KO’s, top ten worlds fastest KO’s, Finished 70% of my fights. My global record from various fights and tournaments 69-3 amateur record, Pro 19-18.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
I like to dance, striking is my fashion.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
Will Smith, Leonardo Da Vinci, Bruce Lee, Tai Mac, Joe Sirbinovich, Dave Lester (Showtime), Dom O’ Grady, Julie Hervey.

What team do you train with ?
Stealth Squad.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I like to dance, we can go where-ever the beat goes!

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
I am not a fighter, I am an athlete. You must embrace all challenges to become the best. I train at my best, I challenge myself to accomplish and persevere. At fighter wants to become an athlete.

What weight do you fight at ?
Lightweight.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
Fighters are people who are hungry to achieve something. I am the hungriest one of them all… I come to fight, to execute my job detail.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Fight in my home town in one of our world-class stadiums. Band playing, lights on full blast, and the arena is electrified waiting to see our dream team…(To be continued)

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Life, lol. 😉

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Be myself and do not get discouraged…This is your life, make it count.

Who are you fighting next ?
I dunno yet, someone cool and really famous. Lets see, haha.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in their game that you can exploit ?
applying a stronger ground game.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
As one of the baddest dudes to ever mess with

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
I can dig it! I was told you come prepared to work or don’t come at all.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Becoming an entrepreneur.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My family.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
My gurus, my teachers, my senpei’s, They have helped me to achieve that same power that they fought years to harness. I owe them credit towards their tutelage.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
The art of discipline body skills.

What drives or motivates you ?
My heart, my will.

What is something people might not know about you ?
Creativity is my business!

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
Design programs and play with my kids.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Come see me after you have tried it your way…I’d like to show you another door that you may not have checked.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
would have become a lawyer.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I like to listen to music, artists like Rob Bailey, A Perfect Circle, Deftones, Incubus, Slaughterhouse..etc.

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5-10 years ?
Spinning outta control…lol.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
My students…my colleagues that I train with.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
>Thank you for this opportunity Shout out to
http://drakosports.com/ (Drako Sportswear)

https://www.facebook.com/stptattoo?fref=ts (Skippy, From MMA Madhouse)

https://www.instagram.com/j_bibb/ (JB Photography)
Thank you

For all the late breaking up to the minute news from Lionheart head over to his fanpage hit the like button and show your support

https://www.facebook.com/LionheartMMADetroit/ (Lionheart MMA Detroit)

