tommy1

May 8th 2016

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Thomas Lee Davis Jr.
Nickname – Demolition Man
Weight – 185 pounds
Record – 1 win 0 losses
Team – Team Juniko

 

Where are you from ?
I’m from Boston, MA.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been training in MMA for a year and half, but I’ve been an athlete my whole life.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I got into MMA because I was always getting into fights anyway, whether it was at school, on the basketball court, football field, or in the street. It was always there for me, it just took me awhile to acknowledge that I could channel my energy into the sport.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
My fight name, so my girlfriends a hair stylist and I told her I wanted to dye my hair blonde–done. The next day was team practice and as soon as I walked in the door my trainer Mike “Loco Lobo” Gresh yelled “DEMOLITION MANNN”. It stuck. If you haven’t seen Demolition Man- Sylvester Stallone, Wesley Snipes, check it out.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
I was tired of doing what I was doing. My hands hurt, I didn’t want to get in trouble. It’s not like I was starting fights but some how when all your friends are 6 foot something they seem to find you. It was time to grow up, train right and take care of my body.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
Oh without a doubt. The first time I told my friends they said “its about time”. My mother on the other hand isn’t to fond of it but she loves me and supports me no matter what.

What is your current record ?
1-0

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
My favorite strike is the sliding side kick or the oblique kick.
My favorite submission is the Von Flue choke.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration is my Mother.

What team do you train with ?
Team Juniko and Team Sityodtong

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
Honestly where ever the fight ends up I don’t mind because I’m well rounded. But I would rather stand up and display my technique and show the crowd what they came there to see.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter to me means, being disciplined and dedicated. If your hearts not in it, you wont last in this sport. It means being a part of a family and all the things that come with that, respect, support, comradery.

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at Middleweight. But the possibility of me fighting at Welterweight is there.

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I don’t feel that anyone is working harder than my team, me and no other team can match the level of dedication as well as the level of talent we are learning from.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I’ll definitely get my ass kicked but just to say I fought him, Jon “Bones” Jones. Give me a couple of years lol.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Being 1-0 I can’t really answer that question but I believe you always train like the next fight will be your toughest yet.

tommy5

What is your mindset going in to a fight
Honestly my mind-set is the same as if I’m training. I’m calm, laid back, ready to handle business. The mentality is there, the training is there and that allows me to stay relaxed.

Who are you fighting next ?
I’m fighting a guy named Anthony Spires. He’s 0-1

what holes or weaknesses do you see in his game that you can exploit ?
From what I’ve seen so far, his grappling is not up to par. I’ve also seen that he doesn’t do well when people flash at him, he flinches a lot.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
NEF New England Fights

Date and time of your next fight ?
Saturday May 14 Hyannis MA 7:00pm

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered as the best fighter in the world. I want this!

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
My favorite quote is “He who is not courageous enough to take risks will accomplish nothing in life” Muhammad Ali

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
My biggest accomplishment so far is being able to not just train but hold my own with the level of talent that’s around me. I’m blessed to be getting world-class training from world-class trainers and fighters.

tommy4

 

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
The most influential people in my career have been my team and my trainers. Without them I don’t have the confidence or courage to perform at the level I know I can. They push me to reach my potential and I’m not that far off from it.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Well that ones easy, fair to say Conor McGregor has made an impact over the past few years. He’s done what other fighters haven’t been able to do in such a short period of time.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Whoopsie Doo. If you don’t know what it is, get with the program.

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
What drives and motivates me is the smiles and happiness I bring to my supporters when they see me doing something that excites me. Watching all the big fights in the UFC, WSOF, Bellator is what I want so if that’s not motivation itself then there’s something wrong.

What is something people might not know about you ?
What people don’t always know about me is I’m an ex basketball player. I played in college but that wasn’t where my life was supposed to go. Every thing in my life, good and bad, has led me here to MMA. Also, I like to listen to old school R&B or pop songs before my fights. Bieber is the man.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
When I’m not at the gym training I’m in the gym working out. I’m easy going, I’m working, training or home with my girlfriend.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Only contribute your time and dedication for the right reasons and not the wrong ones. Don’t join this sport to be like the karate kid wanting to beat up the bully. Do it because you want to be disciplined, family oriented and respectful because those are some of the most valuable things I have acquired from this sport.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
If I didn’t become a fighter I know I would be helping other people reach their own fitness goals. Probably a personal trainer or something like that.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any rituals that get you ready to go to step in the cage ?
To be honest a lot of people said I would be nervous or my emotions were going to be unpredictable, but with fighting it’s not the same as shooting a basketball and hoping that it goes in. With fighting I know I’m going to punch you in the face and when one of these hands touch you my job is done. My coach Daniel said he wants me to be more mean because I’m always so relaxed and calm in the gym but after my first fight we cleared all that up. It’s just how I am; I don’t get hype but to my training partners I will be way more mean so watch out lol but emotionally I’m no different from any other day.

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5-10 years ?
I feel like this sport is only growing. Its going to be more enhanced, they’ll fix certain things like how fighters are being treated and it will eventually be held to higher stands like the boxing world.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
I’m my favorite fighter; but to answer your questions, Jon “Bones” Jones.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I want to thank my coaches and my teammates for believing in my talent and dedicating their time to help me reach my potential. I want to shout out Team Juniko, Team Sityodtong, my family and my supporters.

tommy2

