This slideshow requires JavaScript.

May 9th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Alex Nicholson
Nickname – Spartan
Weight – 185 -205 pounds
Record – 6 wins 2 losses
Team – American Top Team Orlando

Where are you from ?
Apopka Florida.

How long have you been training ?
6 years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I got into a lot of fights growing up and it kind of came to my naturally father was also a pro kickboxing so when I started training he helped.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
On the basketball court in high school I had a beard and everyone said I looked like that guy from 300.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
just always loved being in the gym and could always fight and never had any fear of it like a lot of people do.

Where your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
very my friends and family are all a bunch of savages.

What is your current record ?
48-6 ammy 6-2 mma 1-0 pro boxing.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
My favorite strike is the jump back kick to the face.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
my fiancé.

What team do you train with ?
ATT Orlando.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
stand.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
I fight everyday through life-like everyone else but fighting is what comes most natural to me and is something I love so it means everything to me I walk and talk with pride about what I do and always will.

What weight do you fight at ?
185 205 and heavyweight.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
my natural athleticism and will to never quit.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Jon Jones.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Ronnie Phillips.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
win.

Who are you fighting next ?
Devin Clark.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in their game that you can exploit ?
I feel I’m just all around better and we will find out July 13.

What promotion are you fighting for?
The UFC.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
being the best to ever do it.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
what we do in life will echo through eternity.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
making it to the UFC.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
my fiancée and brother.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Connor McGregor changed the politics and the money of the sport and Jon jones undefeated champion.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
relentless.

What drives or motivates you ?
waking up every morning it’s a blessing from the good lord.

What is something people might not know about you ?
They know nothing about me yet.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
Go to the beach and play basketball.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
don’t quit and you’ll make it.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Professional basketball player.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
the fact that someone has the job to hurt me and I can’t let them do that and I have to hurt them.

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5-10 years ?
in the palm of my hands.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Hannah goldschmidt and Mike perry.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
My friends and family y’all know who they are and the good lord for keeping me here.

