May 10th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Kristian Woodmansee
Nickname – DreamKiller
Weight – 115 pounds
amature Record – 4 wins 1 loss
Team – SFS

Where are you from ?
My family lives in Marlton, Nj. Just outside of Philadelphia. I moved away like 6-7 years ago to pursue the career I have now.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been dabbling in Jiu Jitsu for about 8 years. That is and has been my major focus that entire time. MMA was always just something I wanted to try but I decided recently to take it seriously at a high level.

How did you get in to MMA ?
One day I just jumped in and took a fight in a smoker with no stand up experience. From there I took my time and fought every once in a while until I moved to Vegas and took it more seriously.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
In Jiu Jitsu the Mundials (world championships) has the best fighters from all over competing to be a champion. On that day everyone has the dream of being a world champion but in order to achieve that everyone else you fight has to fail, you have to kill their dreams if you want to accomplish yours. The year I won a world title I did just that and I was crowned DreamKiller.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
My first Jiu Jitsu class I knew this would be my life. I wouldn’t consider myself a fighter though. It’s all just business to me.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
At first my father was hesitant, only because he wanted me to have a secure future. 8 years ago was still before things blew up. After I started winning things and proving I had a future beyond mediocrity.

What is your current record ?
I’m 4-1 as an ammy.
Jiu Jitsu I’m a world champion. 2x pan American champion, and 2x European champion.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
The won that gets the win. I have some I do more than others but I’m well-rounded and feel confident everywhere.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
I have many, none in particular more than the next. I’ve got a big team behind me and they are all important. My immediate circle I have surrounded my self with is James Gray, Brian Fornasiero, Amanda Cooper, Mitchell Tucker, Taylor Duerr, Joe Chalbeck, and then all of my students and training partners. My professor and my Jiu Jitsu family back in San Diego at Atos HQ are all with me too

What team do you train with ?
I’m at SFS in Brighton, Michigan. I just moved here to be an addition to the staff as well as focus on my MMA. James Gray is the captain of the ship.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I know my strong points and my stronger points. I’ll do what ever it takes to win. I have an edge over 99% of the population with my ground game, it will end up there one way or another.

What does being a fighter mean to you
The title of being a fighter means nothing, the martial arts behind it means everything. I’m all about living the lifestyle and being a better person because of it.

What weight do you fight at ?
I’ve had four fights at 125 and one fight at 135, all which I was under weight. I will from this point forward be fighting at 115.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
Everything.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Who ever is ranked number 1 in the world.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Myself.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Have fun. Be happy. And make sure everyone remembers my name.

Who are you fighting next ?
Who knows. I’m having difficulty locking in an opponent. I don’t put energy into selling a fight with trash talk or anything. The same goes for figuring out why they back out. I’m in the gym.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in their game that you can exploit ?
I think everyone has holes, my Jiu Jitsu will create problems for sure and if I need to use it I will.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
If I can lock in an opponent I will be fighting for DCS here in Michigan.

Date and time of your next fight ?
June 25th

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be considered the exception and not an example.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Give me a lever long enough and a fulcrum on which to place it, and I shall move the world. – Archimedes

 

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Winning a world title in Jiu Jitsu
Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My family has influenced me a lot. I can’t wait to have my own and that’s what pushes me everyday.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Bruce Lee. THE best martial artist of all time. Dude is in the UFC game, respect.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Methodical and Entertaining.

What drives or motivates you ?
My goals to be a father and husband and supporting them by following my dream.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I can out hula hoop anyone.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time
I’m training mentally and physically 24 hours a day.
Listen to music. Play destiny. Write poetry.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Train hard, stay humble, and more importantly be happy. Otherwise it’s all a waste.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
A different sport of some kind and then eventually being a coach of said sport.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I stay away from rituals because I just want to focus on the fight. I do how ever listen to just one song over and over again the entire time leading up to time to fight. It’s a secret what song though.

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5-10 years ?
I see it growing in the direction it is. Giving more to the fighters and fans. Creating revenue for everyone and progressing.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Dodson. Straight monster.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to?
My sponsors: Hyperfly, BreakBJJ, 3Fu3l, OCIndustries, UnscaredINC, HookSweep, Moskova, StrikeMVMNT, KeenanOnline.com
My coaches and team at SFS, and Atos HQ.

