ali5

May 11th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Mumia Abu Dey ali
Nickname – The Red Scorpion
Weight – 170 pounds
Pro Record – 1 win 0 losses
Team – Xcombat MMA

Where are you from ?
Indigenous American native European raised Ivrea and Rome Italy were i went to elementary as a military child were I learned and competed at an early age in boxing and Greco-Roman wrestling.

How long have you been training ?
I have been training wrestling and boxing recreational
as a child to stay out of trouble when my parents went there separate ways i returned and lived in several states Spokane Wa,Brockton Ma,Alexandria Va,Atlanta GA,Fort Bragg Nc,Columbia,Sc,Norfolk,Va,Tallahassee,Fl.

How did you break in to MMA ?
My first experience in aN MMA gym was an invite to Role with UFC and Bellator vet.out of VA beach Matt Van Buren

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
My Nickname was inspired by a book I read in college pertaining to an Egyptian book The Seven Deadly Scorpions

What was the defining moment for you when you looked in the mirror and said this is what i want to do ?
Experiencing the training and learning in a gym for the first time inspired me more once i was done competing as an AAU national Freestyle wrestling runner-up and Judo and Boxing
I wanted more competition in my life.

When you made the decision to compete in MMA where your family and friends supportive of that choice ?
I Had little support other than from other athletes ,relatives no close family and majority cases no support.
What is your current record ?
I was 7-5 as a Ammy started slow beginning at competing at 190-185 1-3 then after a little more matt time and ring experience I began finishing fights becoming South Western Virginia regional welter weight Champion after going down in weight class .
I crossed trained with many gyms 4 years bumps in the road an adversity I earned my opportunity to Pro-Debut this past April.2,2016
1-0 ,as a Professional against a very game opponent in which i was victorious with a 1st round K.O. http://www.Gofightlive.tv,Fire and Ice fighting championship Winchester,VA.
What is your favorite strike and submission ?
My favorite strike is Liver kicks and punches submissions I like ankle locks and kimuras.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
perseverance and Adversity throughout my life became strengths to overcome odds.

What team do you train with ?
The team I train with is out of Virginia XCWT,Xcombat MMA.I am managed by Tammy Stone out of NC.

Are you the type of fighter that likes to stand and bang or do you prefer using your ground game ?
I’m like water I go were ever the fight takes me become more well-rounded and working on my Jujitsu and wrestling traps but prefer to stand

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a professional fighter ultimately means being an example to look up to inside and outside the octagon.

What weight do you fight at /
I fight at Welter weight.

What separates you from other fighters ?
Footwork ,cardio,relentlessness movement and creativity separates me from other fighters.

If you could have one dream fight who would it b against and why ?
My Dream fight would be in japan against any welterweight really tough to say whatever  is destined for me to face I step I will step up be victorious.

Who has been your toughest fight ?
My toughest fight is against myself ,i believe i can beat anybody i face.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
My mindset before a fight is the calm before the storm. No FEAR because I am the STORM.

Who are you fighting next ?
As of right now I’m not sure who my next opponent is but they always change so I prepare accordingly.

What holes or weaknesses do you look to exploit in your opponents ?
The weaknesses I can see in my opponents game that I can exploit are little to no movement and there stand up.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
I currently debuted Professionally at welterweight in Virginia the next promotion my be in NC.

Date and time of your next fight ?
June 17th 2016

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
My favorite quote is Destroy or be destroyed.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport ?
My biggest accomplishments in the sport was winning the welterweight title and turning Professional overcoming adversity and odds which became a strength and passion.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My wrestling coaches and boxing coaches and matt buddies including many fighters are influential.

Who do you think has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Conor Mcgregor has had the biggest impact ever on the sport of MMA due to his confidence and will to win.
How would you describe your fighting style ?
I would describe my fighting style as Total War.

What drives or motivates you ?
What drives me in the sport of mma is to defy the odds and show the world my gift.

What is something people might not know about you ?
Something people might not know about me is that I’m an artist,vegetarian,i maintain a bachelor’s degree in fine Art and i volunteered many years as a special ed teacher.
When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
When I’m not training I like to fish and paint pictures and read.

What advice can you impart on young fighters ?
30.)Advise that I can give a young fighter is to train hard ,don’t give up stay on the grind and listen to your coach, follow your heart never let doubters tell you what you can’t do.

What gets you hyped up for a fight ?
I don’t really get hype because in my mind I live this sport in real life im passionate about what i do.
Do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
I go fishing if possible,read books “Art of War”and take quiet time to myself to listen to classical music.

Where do you see MMA as a sport in 5-10 years ?
Where do i see the sport of mma in 5 to 10 years ? It’s steadily growing evolving im ready to see what the future beholds.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
My favorite fighter is Fedor .

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
I would like to thank my doubters ,non believers and dream killers.thank you for the adversity it makes me stronger!because im gonna shock the MMA world really soon at welterweight.

 

