This slideshow requires JavaScript.

May 12th 2016
Fighter Profile
Name – Marisa Messer-Belenchia
Nickname – The Spider Monkey
Weight – 105 pounds
Record – 2 wins 1 loss
Team – Calandrelli MMA/Marcelo Garcia BJJ

Where are you from ?
Connecticut.

How long have you been training ?
5 years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I started out doing TKD for one year then transitioned into BJJ ,Muay Thai, Boxing and Wrestling.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
My nickname is the Spider Monkey and my trainer gave me it when I first started.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
I just love training hard, my trainer told me I should compete, and by nature I’m competitive and one thing lead to another.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
Most didn’t fully understand what I was doing until they saw it. Thought I was a little crazy, but they got more supportive as they realized I wasn’t stopping.

What is your current record ?
MMA 2-1
Boxing 6-3

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
My favorite submission is Heel Hooks.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My coaches, who practice what they preach.

What team do you train with ?
Calandrelli MMA/Marcelo Garcia BJJ.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
Both.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
It means I can sleep better at night knowing I’m challenging myself to my fullest potential.

What weight do you fight at ?
105-115 pounds.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
Conditioning, preparation, competition exposure.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I don’t know.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
My last boxing match against a girl who was 23-5

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Do what I train day in and day out to do, and stand up for myself.

Who are you fighting next ?
I am fighting Laken Jowers from North Carolina.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in their game ?
I am planing on being ready for what ever comes my way in this fight.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
I am fighting For Premier FC.

Date and time of your next fight ?
July 30th.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered for being Tough, dedicated, and hardworking.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Andrew Calandrelli, professional fighter my mentor, coach, and best friend.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Many people have. I like watching Cris Cyborg because she dominates.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Well rounded.

What drives or motivates you ?
To be the best I can be.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I would train just as hard if I never fought I just love the sport.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Still working in the fitness world.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I like to watch fight highlights.

your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
I’m about to go to war with someone so I hope they’re ready.

Who is your favourite fighter ?
Cris Cyborg.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
I like to watch the food network.
What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Golden Gloves Western New England & New England Novice Champ,and a number of IBJJF & NAGA titles.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
The sport is growing everyday but initially it was a challenge just to be accepted and taken seriously.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Keep at it, don’t get discouraged.. If it’s in you, follow it.

Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
Still growing and progressing with monsters coming up.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
Top 10 UFC Atomweight.

What are your goals within the sport ?
To be known as One of the best in the world at my weight class.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Andrew Calandrelli for believing in me from day one, my other coaches & teammates at UMMA and BIF.

 

Make sure you follow Marisa by clicking the link below and hitting the like button on her fanpage to stay up to date with all the latest news from The Spider Monkey

