ruben2

May 16th 2016

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Ruben Perez
Nickname – The Rooster
Weight – 125-135 pounds
Record – 6 wins 1 loss
Team – Tennessee Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Academy

 

Where are you from ?
Long Beach CA.

How long have you been training ?
7 years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
My little brother got me into MMA and the Army Combatives program helped me kick-start it.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
I was never into nicknames however my boxing coaches Joe Marchall and Duane Edwards started calling me The Rooster, a character in the movie True Grit.
What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
I just wanted to prove to myself and my fellow Soldiers that what we teach them actually works.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
Most definitely, they’ve always been supportive in anything I do.

What is your current record ?
6-1.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
I really don’t have any favorites, I break down footage of opponents and tailor towards my strengths and their weaknesses.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My son Jayden who struggles with Autism and Epilepsy. He’s the real fighter.

rubenffa

What team do you train with ?
I train with Tennessee Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Academy and Team Legion out of Fort Campbell KY.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
“Be extremely subtle, even to the point of formlessness. Be extremely mysterious, even to the point of soundlessness. Thereby you can be the director of the opponent’s fate.”
-Sun Tzu

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
I personally don’t like the term “fighter”, being a martial artist means the world to me. I love sharing knowledge, learning new things and changing people’s lives.

What weight do you fight at ?
125-135 pounds.

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
When I’m on my game, I’m unstoppable. I’m the hardest worker around.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Myself or Mighty Mouse.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
A current 125 pro out of Xtreme Couture Carlos Garcia, the only person who has a win over me. He’s a phenomenal athlete.

ruben4

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
No one deserves it more than me. I get beat up in the gym everyday, it’s my time.

Who are you fighting next ?
At the moment I don’t have a fight lined up, I’m focusing more on my Military career.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
Nothing, in MMA you’re only as good as your last fight. Soon everyone forgets and a new guy pops up. I’ll always be grinding.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
“Victorious warriors win first and then go to war, while defeated warriors go to war first and then seek to win.”
-Sun Tzu

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
My brown belt in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and headlining a show in Las Vegas.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My coaches, my teammates, my wife and my kids.. When you compete, yeah you’re in there alone, however, there is way more people behind the scenes who are never mentioned helping you be successful and that to me means a lot.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
I would say Art Davie, without him the UFC wouldn’t have got its start and we would probably still be fighting in Garages.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Modern Army Combatives. Gritty, pressure and in your face.

ruben3

What drives or motivates you to step in the cage and compete ?
My kids.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
I try to spend as much time as I can with my family. I also really enjoy mental training, breaking down fights and patterns certain fighters do.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Listen to your coaches, don’t lose your chin in the gym and take it day by day. One training session at a time. Some days you’ll be the hammer and others you’ll be the nail.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Same thing I’m doing now, serving my country and Jiu Jitsu!

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any rituals that get you ready to go to step in the cage ?
I have a few triggers that myself and my sports psychiatrist developed throughout trial and error.

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5-10 years ?
Hopefully better compensation for fighters and a feasible health insurance.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Mighty Mouse hands down! He’s always evolving and in my opinion he’s the absolute best P4P fighter. He doesn’t get the credit he deserves.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Always a huge thanks to my Lord and savior Jesus Christ for such an amazing journey! My coaches and teammates at Fort Campbell Combatives and Tennessee Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Academy. My beautiful wife for putting up with me through tours overseas and training camps. Last but certainly not least, my sponsors Triumph United and Peregrinus Dei BJJ for keeping me hooked up with the best gear around!

ruben5

To stay up to date with all the late breakig news from Ruben Click the link below to go check out his fan page

https://www.facebook.com/RubenPerezMMA/

