This slideshow requires JavaScript.

May 18th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Chris Connors
Nickname – The Angry Midget
Weight – 135 pounds
Record – 0 wins 2 losses
Team – Elite BJJ

Where are you from ?
I was born and raised in Lee’s Summit, Missouri.

How long have you been training ?
I started training in 2010.

How did you get in to MMA ?
A friend asked me to help him with some wrestling, for a fight that he had. I was helping him, and really enjoyed it.
Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
I was a Marine Instructor at Fort Lee, Va.
I got very angry with a group of students and one of them looked at his friend, and said “watch out the midget is Angry”.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
When I was warming up for my first fight, I knew that this is something that I wanted to do.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
I was a Marine when I started fighting, so all the Marines that I worked with were all about it, my wife was nervous, my family was scared.

What is your current record?
0-2

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
I don’t have a favorite strike, I like to throw combinations, my favorite submission, would be a series of subs that I use when in side control.
Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration would have to be my Family. They always push me to be better and support me.

What team do you train with ?
I train Elite BJJ in Wilmington, NC.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground?
I would rather take the fight to the ground.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter is more than a status, or profession. Being a fighter is an attitude, or outlook on life. To me it means that you push through the obstacles that are thrown at you on your way to accomplishing your goals.

What weight do you fight at ?
Bantamweight 135lbs

What do you think separates you from other fighters in your division ?
My camp, I am training at a great gym, that pushed me past my “limits” to make me better.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Tyler “Hulk Hands” Freeland.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
I would have to say, either Sam Sniffin, or Jojo Stringfield.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
My mindset is that, he has not been through what I have, and He will not beat me.

Who are you fighting next ?
I am scheduled to fight JoJo Stringfield, this is a rematch from when we were both Ammy fighters.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in their game that you can exploit ?
I cannot give away the fight plan, but it will be exciting.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
I will fight for Odyssey, June 18th in Richmond VA.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered as a fighter that always came to fight.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
“When you want to be successful as bad as you want to breathe, then you will be successful” Eric Thomas.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
One of my biggest accomplishments so far is being a matchmaker, it has helped me a lot

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
I have been very fortunate to have met some great people, but the biggest influences have been my wife Holly and LaMont Chappell the CEO and owner of Next Level Fight Club.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
I would say that the Zuffa Owners Frank and Lorenzo Fertitta, if they would not have bought the UFC, then there would not be MMA.
How would you describe your fighting style ?
Controlling, Grinding.

What drives or motivates you ?
My son Cody is a big driving force for me.

What is something people might not know about you ?
Something that people may not know about me, is that I was a member of the Marine Corps Wrestling Team and Ranked 6th in the country in Greco-Roman wrestling

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
I like to spend time with my family, and work on making Next Level Fight Club, the promotion I am matchmaker for better.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Train hard, fight hard, use your Amateur time to fight everyone; once you become a professional, pick your fights wisely and with a purpose.
What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I would still be a huge fan and support the sport.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
Honestly, I don’t get “hyped” before a fight, I usually just listen to music, and get into my own head, I don’t really warm up much.

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5-10 years ?
I see the sport continuing to grow. I know that many want to see it in the Olympics, but I think that will be much farther into the future. I see kids starting to train MMA at earlier ages and that is what will push this sport into the future.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
My favorite fighter would have to be Randy Couture, Dan Henderson and Matt Hughes.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I would like to thank, My wife Holly Connor, my kids, Lamont Chappell and Brittany Crumpler of Next Level Fight Club, Professor John George, Josh “Shortstack” Robinson of Elite BJJ Wilmington, Guerrilla Armament, Forbidden Tattoo and Piercing, Wood Brother Construction, Wood Family Development and Velocity Shoot Photography.

