This slideshow requires JavaScript.

May 20th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Meaghan Phillips
Nickname – MoFo Mauler
Weight – 125 pounds
Record – 3 wins 3 losses
Team – Inception Mixed Martial Arts Academy

Where are you from ?
I am from Mount Forest, Ontario.

How long have you been training ?
I started training for boxing in January 2013.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I started going to my coach for personal training to hit pads for fun and that quickly evolved into boxing training, which lead into mma.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
Mount Forest is called MoFo for short form. At one of my first fights my dad started yelling out go MoFo Mauler to cheer me on. The name stuck after that.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
The first time I stepped into the boxing ring I was hooked. As time progressed, I wanted this life more and more.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA?
Yes, I am very blessed to have the supportive family that I do. Some of the people in my life were not supportive when I started to pursue this with passion, but I didn’t let that stop or slow me.

What is your current record ?
Boxing is 4-1-4, kickboxing is 7-1-2, mma is 3-3.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
Love the jab!

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My inspiration comes from those close to me that have gone through hardships and kept pushing forward regardless.

What team do you currently train with ?
Inception Mixed Martial Arts Academy

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I like standing.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
Having the dedication to put in long hard hours in the gym, being ready and willing to make the necessary sacrifices to get into the ring or cage, being respectful

What weight do you fight at ?
Anywhere from 125 to 140 pounds.

what do you think separates you from other fighters ?
my love of standing and trading and never quitting.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I haven’t thought about that. I am so young in the sport and am thankful for every opponent and the learning experience that they provide as I work my way up.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
My second fight with Cassandra Durant. I was not expecting the pace or the power and we went hard for all three rounds.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Punch hard and don’t look like an idiot or get caught in something silly

Who are you fighting next ?
I am not sure. The opponent I was supposed to face on May 14th backed out this Saturday
(2 weeks before).

what holes or weaknesses do you see in their game that you can exploit ?
The girl that I was supposed to fight doesn’t seem to have great footwork.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
This fight was going to be for Victory & American Fighting Alliance.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
That I put on good fights, I was entertaining to watch and was constantly evolving and improving.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My coach. He sees potential in me that I had no idea was there and he always working with me and encouraging me ?

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
I don’t think that honour can go to one person. Many different fighters have had a hand on moving the sport in the direction it is going in.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Aggressive striker.

What drives or motivates you ?
Knowing that someone else is working just as hard to go after what I want. The desire to succeed in the sport, and to be better than my last fight.

What is something people might not know about you ?
Fighting has saved me mentally. I struggle with body image issues and used to have very unhealthy eating habits. Fighting has let me see my body is a different light and to appreciate it. I am now focused on how much better of an athlete can I be tomorrow.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I really do not know, I can’t imagine my life without training and fighting

What gets you hyped up for a fight ?
Visualizing being in the ring or cage and trading shots, wanting to have my hand raised at the end of the battle.

Do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
No, not really. I listen to my music, visualize what I want to do in the fight and warm up.

your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
Why am I doing this ?
That quickly disappears as soon as the fight starts.

Who is your favourite fighter ?
Holly Holm. She is a boxer/kickboxer and is always so respectful

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
Spend it with my family, spoiling my nieces and nephews.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Getting this contract and sponsorship is pretty big!

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
Getting more girls involved in the sport. Fight cards are full of males and there are usually just 1 or 2 female matches.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Don’t stop or give up. Don’t ever let someone tell you that you can’t and/or won’t make it or that it is foolish to go after your dream to fight.

Where do you see women’s mma in the next 5-10 years ?
I think that it is really going to explode as more get into it.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
Fighting pro and training fighters.

What are your goals within the sport ?
To be the top dog in my weight class, and to become a pro fighter. Also, to promote the sport to other females.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
My coach Derek for seeing something in me and guiding me down this path, and my parents for their constant support and encouragement.

