billy5

May 24th 2016

 

Fighter Profile
Name – Billy Hawthorn
Nickname – Bang Bang
Weight – Heavyweight
Record – 75 wins 40 losses 6 draws
Team – REPS BOXING

 

Where are you from ?
I’m from Newcastle.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been training to box since I was 8 years old.

How did you get in to Boxing ?
I got into boxing as a few of my older Cousins did it and got me training with them.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
My nickname “Bang Bang” was given to me by an old coach as I had 6 fights and won all by KO so they nicknamed me bang bang lol.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
I loved watching boxing and just thought I’d love to try it.

billy3

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to pursue a career in Boxing?
Yeah my family always have and always will be supportive my dad used to drive me 12 miles to my gym every night after work my mam was like all mams scared and worried lol but she is fine now it’s only took her 12 years to come to any of my fights lol.

What is your current record ?
75-40-6.

What is your favorite strike or combination to utilize in a fight ?
My left hook.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My old amateur boxing coach Terry coulson.

What team do you train with ?
I now train with and fight out of REPS BOXING.

Would you describe yourself as an offensive or defensive Boxer ?
I love to stand toe 2 toe with them but also like to box as well.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
I love fighting I do it as a hobby and as well as fighting for my family.

What weight do you fight at ?
I’m a Heavyweight.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
My new training partner Johnny legend we fought twice and the second was hardest.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
To box the best I can.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
For being the best I can be at the sport I do.

billy2

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Well I have a few at the moment I am the current
FFC Heavyweight Champion
FCC Heavyweight Champion
Duel Heavyweight Champion
Computer Clinic Inferno British Champion and I am also ranked #2 in UK Bare Knuckle Boxing.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
I have a few my old coach Terry Coulson and my new trainers Keith Pape and Malcom Pape.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
I have to say Michael ferry.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Fighter/boxer.

What drives or motivates you ?
My 2 year old daughter.

What do you like to do in your free time ?
spend as much time with my daughter as I can.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
put 110% into it and it will pay off in the end.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
To be honest the area I am from looking at what most of the lads my age have done and still do will only end one way and that is jail.

What gets you mentally prepared for a fight do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
I think about my daughter and that I’m doing it for her to better her life .

Where do you see yourself in 5-10 years ?
In 5 years I’d love to still be fighting but u never know what’s around the corner.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Smoking Joe Frazier.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Obviously I’d like to thank all my family for there support. Most of all I want to thank my teammate and my coaches who put all the time and effort into me.

billy4

