This slideshow requires JavaScript.

May 25th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Abbey Ewing
Nickname – Daddy’s Little Weapon
Weight – 135 pounds
Record – 3 wins 1 loss
Team – Team Colon

Where are you from ?
I’m from Portage Indiana.

How long have you been training ?
I started training at age 9.

How did you get in to MMA ?
My Dad wanted me to know how to defend myself. I started with that in mind and really realized how much I loved fighting I have Never looked back since.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
My nick name came in the warm up room before my first fight in Indianapolis. My coach looked at my Dad and I and said “That’s it” ” Daddy’s little weapon”. P.S my Dad and I are very close. He has raised me on his own since I was 2 yrs old.

What was the defining moment when you knew this is what you wanted to do ?
When I realized I could do damage, and enjoyed it.

When you decided to enter the world of MMA where your family and friends supportive ?
YES…I have had a lot of support. It grows more and more every time I fight.

what is your current record ?
I’m 3-1. My one loss came by points. I’m thankful to have learned the saying “No Judges” after this fight. I’ll leave it at that.

What is your favorite strike ?
My favorite strike is the jab.

What is your favorite submission ?
My favorite submission is the arm bar.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My favorite inspiration is my Dad.

What team do you train with ?
I train and fight for Team Colon.

Are you the type of fighter that likes to stand and throw hands or take the fight to the ground ?
I like to stand but I’m training to be well-rounded.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
It means I can do what most others can’t do – I’m unique.

What weight do you fight at ?
I’m 5’6 135 lbs. But at my age I fight at a lot of catch weights (130 lbs.).

What separates you from other fighters ?
I have a bigger vision.

IF you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Whoever has the UFC Belt.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
I don’t think I’ve been really challenged yet.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Beautiful Destruction.

Who are you fighting next ?
As my coach says – We’ll fight anyone.

Date and time of you next fight ?
TBD.

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career ?
That I surpassed all before me – to leave a vision to the one’s behind me.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My Dad.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Eddie Wineland.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Freestyle.

What drives and motivates you ?
That fighting is truly my life.

What do you think you would be doing if you had never become a fighter ?
Your typical teenage girl…no thank you.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
I’m very quiet.

Your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
It’s time.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Anderson Silvia.

When you’re not training what do you like to do in your free time ?
Reading or Painting.

what has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Opening for an MMA card at age 14.

What do you think are the biggest challenges for women in MMA ?
I don’t think there is any – who doesn’t like a good chic fight – lol.

What advice can you give to other young fighters ?
Go and taste the victory – you won’t want anything else.

Where do you see women’s mma in 5-10 years ?
Dominant.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
I’ll be 19 in 5 yrs. I see myself close to entering the UFC.

What are your goals in the sport ?
To be the most dominant woman’s fighter.

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
My Dad who has supported me day in and day out. Also to my coach Steve Colon who has a special way to make me realize my potential.

