This slideshow requires JavaScript.

May 28th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – John Herring
Nickname – Polar Bear
Weight – 275 pounds
Team – Michael Deluca BJJ

Where are you from ?
I am originally from Erie pa. I moved to the cape in 2002.

How long have you been training ?
I will be hitting my 9 year anniversary May 29th.

How did you get in to JiuJitsu ?
I met Jimmy Oliver, Jesse Sullivan, and John Burke from the dungeon they took a chance on my fat out of shape self and that started a life change for me.

How did you get the nickname Polar Bear ?
Polar bear came from my side mount position I used and one of my dungeon training partners said “its like a polar bear laying across my chest” name stuck after that.

When you decided to compete in JiuJitsu where your family and friends supportive of the decision ?
My wife has been almost at every thing I’ve ever done and has been the strongest supporter of me in this crazy sport.

What are some of your accomplishments in the sport ?
Purple belt naic champion five grappling
Grapplers quest beast of the east champion purple belt
Naga champion brown belt
New york open champion 2016

What is your favorite submission ?
Toe hold.

Who do you think had the biggest impact on JiuJitsu as a sport
Marcus Buchecha redefined the game as an ultra heavyweight ?

What team do you train with ?
I currently train at michael deluca bjj in middleboro ma.
I have extensive history.
I received up through purple belt from Rene Nazare at the Dungeon under Clube Feijao banner. Rene left cape cod and I moved to train with Juliano Coutinho.
I received my Brown belt received from Juliano Coutinho and Daniel Gracie.
I only recently have moved on but I have nothing but love and respect for those who have helped me.
Many say things like traitor, or “creonte” but I did what was best for me, nobody else.I will always have respect for all those ive trained with.
Juniko and team Daniel Gracie are some of the best people ive known over the years and I wish them the best.
I have gotten a chance to train with some of the best instructors in the region and I only look forward to the future.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Jiujitsu is all about conquering not only uncomfortable positions but applying it to life to be a better person.

What weight do you compete at ?
Ultra heavy weight im 275.

What do you think separates you from other competitors ?
I’m a special education teacher. I don’t do this full-time or for a living. But I still push every day to be the best.

If you could have one dream match up who would it be against ?
Roger Gracie. Id take that beating lol.

Who has been your toughest opponent to date ?
Patrick Michael Scully.

What is your mindset heading in to a competition or tournament ?
Push to be better every time.

Date and time of your next competition ?
Big things in the works not announcing yet.

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career ?
That i gave all i could to make the sport better.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Position before submission.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport ?
Starting my own club at Monomoy high school.

Who has been most influential to you in our career ?
Jesse Sullivan, Juliano Coutinho, Mike Gresh, and now Michael Deluca beginning a newstage of my career.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Marcus Buchecha.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Pressure but a new game is coming along.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I have a Black belt in kungfu

When you’re not training what do you like to do in your free time ?
Hang with my wife and dog.

What advice can you impart on the next generation of JiuJitsu competitors ?
That it’s a sport. Theres a difference between team and family. Very few will be with you unconditionally

What do you think you would be doing if you had never started JiuJitsu ?
i would be very unhealthy.

What gets you hyped up and ready to compete?
Adam sawyer I will give credit as the best pre match speech. He gave it to me at the new york open my 1st place followed. He’s a brother to me.
Him and kym sturdivant are the 2 best friends I have in this sport no matter what happens thus far.

Do you have any rituals that get you ready to step on the mats at a competition ?
No

Where do you see JiuJitsu heading as a sport in the next 5 yeas ?
I see it becoming more and more professional where these guys make real money for it.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
In MMA Wanderlei Silva and for
Jiujitsu Buchecha

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Mike Deluca for taking me on as student. And your team for all they have already done to push me.
Mike Gresh for being absolutely one of the best people ive known in this sport. Much respect.
Juliano Coutinho for all you taught me. For the times you traveled with me and backed me thank you.
To any haters I appreciate it.

Shout outs go to
Howard fidler xionx.us
James carron cape cod nutrition corner
Frank patino patino diet
Dragoon pro gear
Prime athletic corporation
Burrito loco julio martinez
Chris virgin
Daryl routhier
Olde tyme heating and cooling.
United grappling association mark Germadnig
Breakpoint gis
Unique kennels
Nguyen sound

