This slideshow requires JavaScript.

May 29th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Rosalyn Lincoln
Record – 1 win 6 loses
Weight – 167 pounds
Team – Team Link North Adams

Where are you from ?
North Adams, MA

How long have you been training ?
Almost 7 months.

How did you get in to Jiu Jitsu ?
My whole life I wanted to get into a martial art, and once I tried out Jiu Jitsu, I knew it was the one for me.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
After stepping on the mats and trying out Jiu Jitsu for the first time, I instantly fell in love with the sport and everything about it.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to compete in Jiu Jitsu ?
At first they were a little nervous, but after seeing what Jiu Jitsu is and how much it means to me, they fully support me.

What is your current record ?
1 win, 6 losses. I hope to work on that and improve it in the future.

What is your favorite submission ?
Either the armbar or the omoplata.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My parents are my biggest inspiration. They push me to great things every day and they fully support me no matter what.

What team do you train with ?
Team Link North Adams

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I am definitely a ground fighter.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
To me, being a fighter means improving yourself every single day and pushing your self to the limit. Being a fighter has also taught me to respect not only for my self, but others also.

What weight do you fight at ?
167 pounds.

what do you think separates you from other fighters ?
I’m a very dedicated person and love what I do, and I work really hard to improve myself.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Ronda Rousey. Even though she would most likely win, it would be really cool to experience a fight with one of the best female athletes in the world.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
My toughest match was against my own teammate at Tap Cancer Out. She put up a great fight and we both worked really hard. It’s always tough going against someone you train with every day.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I always try to stay relaxed and focused.

You competed this past weekend in at Ammo Fight League tell us about that experience ?
This past weekend was an amazing experience. I pushed myself as much as I could. I may not have taken home a gold medal, but it was all such a great learning experience for me and I even met some really cool people. After receiving the “Fighter of the Day” award, it proved to me how important hard work and good sportsmanship is in this sport. I had an awesome time and am really looking forward to the next AMMO event.

What is next for you ?
I’m going to head back to the gym and train harder to improve myself for the next tournament.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered as a respectful, hard-working, and dedicated fighter.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
My biggest accomplishment has to be receiving the “Fighter of the Day” award. Hard work, dedication, and respect is always something that I try to practice, so taking home that award was a really big accomplishment for me.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My coach, Chris Manley, has been really influential to me.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Very technical. I always try to perfect my moves and do them the exact way they were taught to me.

What drives or motivates you ?
The opportunity to become successful in such an awesome sport motivates me every single day. The fact that I am bettering myself pushes me farther and farther.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I am still only 17 years old, and I am also the captain of my school’s cross-country team.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
I like to relax at home and play video games.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Never give up on something you love doing. Hard work and dedication really pays off in the end. Don’t let anyone tell you that you can’t do something. Stick with what you love doing and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I would probably be playing a different sport, which I can’t even imagine doing.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to step on the mats and compete ?
I get hyped up by listening to some of my favorite songs and thinking about the outcome of my match. It keeps me motivated until the match is over.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
I see myself receiving my blue belt, improving myself every day, and winning more tournaments.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in Jiu Jitsu ?
I think the biggest challenge for women in Jiu Jitsu is finding opponents to compete against. A lot of women train jiu jitsu, but there isn’t many that compete. Sometimes you have to compete in a different division, which can be pretty challenging.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
I have a few: Joanna Jedrzejczyk, Ronda Rousey and Luke Rockhold.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I want to thank my family for supporting me and pushing me to do my best every day, my coach, Chris Manley, for helping me better myself in this sport in every way possible, and my teammates for supporting me and helping me train to get better.

